North Dakota Ignition Interlock Laws

For first and repeat DUI offenders, the North Dakota Department of Transportation (NDDOT) and the courts may require you to install an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) in your vehicle if you…

  • Had a breath alcohol concentration (BAC) level of .08 percent or higher.
  • Refused a breath test or were unconscious at the time of the test.
  • Are guilty of a second or subsequent DUI traffic offense within seven years.

*You will be responsible for all costs and installation services for the IID, and bring your vehicle in for regular monitoring and service. You may be required to attend and complete the 24/7 Sobriety Program, as well as doing community service.

How to Get Your License Quickly in North Dakota

  1. Serve any jail or suspension time, as well as completing your educational program and any community service.
  2. File an SR-22 insurance form as proof of financial responsibility to the NDDOT. Your agent or company can assist you with this paperwork.
  3. Schedule an IID installation with a state-approved, interlock service provider.
  4. Pay all your applicable fees. Note that you will still have to complete court regulations as well.

DISCLAIMER: These steps may not be a complete representation of what you must do to regain your license. As DUI case details vary by each individual, please do not see this step-by-step guide as an official process to regaining your license, but rather as a starting point only.

How Much Does a DUI Cost in North Dakota?

DUI OffenseJail TimeFee
*IID fees not included
Suspended License Period
FirstNone$500 to $7503 to 6 months
Second10 days$600 to $1,5001 to 2 years
Third120 days$2,000-minimum2 to 3 years

*Additional fees, jail time, and suspension periods may apply.