What happens after I get my DUI?
After you get a DUI in Nebraska, you will receive a 15-day temporary permit. If you have no prior offenses, you will be eligible for an ignition interlock permit (IIP) on the 16th day. If you do have a prior offense, you will serve a 45-day hard suspension, followed by 365 days of ignition interlock eligibility. If you refused a breath test in the field, you’ll be forced to serve a 90-day hard suspension of your license, followed by 365 days of ignition interlock eligibility. All of this is handled administratively through the Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). If you have any further questions about the specifics of your process, call Smart Start at 1-866-747-8278.
What do I need to bring to my installation?
Once you have scheduled your Ignition Interlock Device (IID) installation with Smart Start, you will need to bring the following to your installation appointment:
- Money for your first month’s payment
- Vehicle identification and registration
What should I bring back to my monitoring authority after my device is installed?
Once you have identified a probation officer with Smart Start, Smart Start will send proof of installation to your probation officer on your behalf at no additional cost to you.
How do I know if Smart Start’s devices are compliant with my program?
Smart Start is on the Nebraska DMV’s list of state-approved ignition interlock providers. Smart Start’s Ignition Interlock Devices (IIDs) also meet the standards set by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA).
What happens if I violate?
If you violate in the state of Nebraska, your Ignition Interlock Device will go into a countdown, and you will have five days to get your Ignition Interlock Device serviced before it locks you out completely and you cannot drive.
How often does my IID need to be serviced?
Nebraska law states that your Ignition Interlock Device (IID) needs to be serviced once a month.
How do the consequences differ for a first and second DUI? Third? Fourth?
Traditionally, the administrative consequences are as follows:
First DUI: 180-day revocation with the breath alcohol Ignition Interlock Device (BAIID) allowed if otherwise eligible for license.
Second+ DUI: 45-day hard suspension and a 365-day revocation with the breath alcohol Ignition Interlock Device (BAIID) allowed if you are otherwise eligible for a license.
From a criminal side, clients with a first offense are usually subject to a 90-day suspension and will have an ignition interlock requirement. Your court will assign an ignition interlock permit (IIP) term period for which you will receive day for day credit. Your court may also revoke, at its discretion, an IIP for part of or for the entire revocation period.
What do I need for removal?
Call Smart Start of Nebraska at 1-866-747-8278 to schedule an appointment. We remove per client request—HOWEVER, we highly recommend that you first verify removal eligibility with your probation officer and/or the Nebraska DMV. If not, you may not receive credit for your time with the Ignition Interlock Device, or you may be required to install again to complete your requirement.
What if I have a requirement, but I don’t own a vehicle?
No alternative provisions are legislated in Nebraska. Nebraska does not have a mandatory participation clause for all offenders, and the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) does allow you to “sit out” your revocation period. However, these situations are handled by the court, the probation officer, and/or the judge on a case-by-case basis.
Do I need the device on all of my vehicles?
In Nebraska, if you have an ignition interlock permit (IIP), you are required by the state to have an Ignition Interlock Device on any vehicle that you drive, but not every vehicle that you own.
Where can I go for service? Anywhere, or just within my state?
Nebraska law dictates that you can service your Ignition Interlock Device (IID) at any Smart Start service center nationwide.
What constitutes a violation in my state?
In the state of Nebraska, any and all of the following may constitute a violation:
- A failed initial breath test
- A failed re-test, rolling re-test or otherwise
- Attempting to start the vehicle without a valid sample (also known as tampering)
- Failing to take or skipping a re-test
- Anything else specified by your monitoring authority
What do I need to do to install voluntarily?
To install an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) on your vehicle or a family member’s vehicle -voluntarily, click the chat window below, fill out our online form, or call Smart Start at 1-866-747-8278 to speak with one of our customer care advocates and schedule a voluntary installation appointment. Check to see if your insurance offers any discounts for voluntary interlock installation—especially for children going off to college.
How do I know if I need a camera/GPS/etc.?
Per the state of Nebraska, all units installed on or after January 1, 2014 are required to have a camera. Units installed prior to January 1, 2014 are grandfathered in until a transfer is performed. If additional requirements are put in place by your court or probation officer, your court or probation officer will let you know. If you’re not sure, contact your court or probation officer to verify.
Where does installation fall based on my condition?
Unless otherwise instructed by your monitoring authority, you will need to install the Ignition Interlock Device (IID) as soon as possible so that the state can receive an installation certificate. Once the installation certificate is processed, you can go and get the ignition interlock permit (IIP).
Does the camera watch me all the time?
No; it only takes pictures of your tests or if you miss a re-test. There is no live video feed.
How do I know who my monitoring authority is?
In Nebraska, your monitoring authority is traditionally the Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) and/or your probation officer.
How do I know what my state requires in an Ignition Interlock Device?
Smart Start is on the approved list of ignition interlock providers in Nebraska. All providers on the approved Ignition Interlock Device providers list satisfy state requirements.
How can I pay for calibration?
You can pay for calibration by cash, Visa, or MasterCard at your Smart Start service center at the time of calibration unless otherwise informed.
Where do I send a record of my service appointments?
Smart Start will send a record of your service appointments to your monitoring authority on your behalf at no additional cost to you.
Does this thing hurt my vehicle?
No, Smart Start’s breath alcohol Ignition Interlock Device (BAIID) will not harm your vehicle in any way. The device only prevents your vehicle from starting. Once the Ignition Interlock Device is removed, your vehicle is returned to its original condition.
Can I get one on my motorcycle?
Motorcycle Ignition Interlock installation laws differ by state. Smart Start operates throughout the U.S. as a certified manufacturer and will work harder than other companies to provide you a seamless Interlock program that still follows your case requirements in the state of Nebraska. Please call our Customer Care Center at 800-831-3299 if you have any questions.