Georgia Ignition Interlock Laws

For first-time offenders and repeat DUI offenders, your license will be confiscated immediately per Georgia’s Administrative License Revocation (ALR) if:

  • Your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level was .08 or higher
  • You refused a breath test

Georgia courts require Ignition Interlock Devices (IID) for all DUI offenders. You’re required to pay for all costs associated with the IID, from installation, monthly lease payments, and service fees to removal. You may also be required to attend an alcohol and drug screening program.

How to Get Your License Quickly in Georgia

  1. Wait out your suspension period.
  2. Schedule an appointment to have your Georgia ignition interlock installed with an approved Smart Start interlock service provider by calling 1.800.831.3299.
  3. Attend DUI school to obtain your Alcohol Risk Reduction Certificate and complete any DUI intervention programs (if applicable).
  4. Bring the documents listed above to a Smart Start interlock service provider.
  5. Visit the DDS and pay a $25 fee and submit your proof of installation.
  6. Complete any pending court regulations.

DISCLAIMER: These steps may not be a complete representation of what you must do to regain your license. As DUI case details vary by each individual, please do not see this step-by-step guide as an official process to regaining your license, but rather as a starting point only.

How Much Does a DUI Cost in Georgia?

DUI OffenseJail TimeFee
*IID fees not included
Suspended License Period
FirstUp to 1 year$300 to $1,000Up to 1 year
Second3 days to 1 year$600 to $1,210 18 months
Third120 days to 1 year$1,000 5 years
Fourth1 year to 5 years$5,2105 years

*Additional fees, jail time, and suspension periods may apply.

For additional information and resources to help you regain your license in Georgia, refer to these links: