Arizona Ignition Interlock Laws

If you are stopped for driving under the influence, your driver’s license will immediately be confiscated if:

  • You have an alcohol concentration level of .08 percent or higher
  • You have an alcohol concentration of .04 percent or higher while driving a commercial vehicle requiring a commercial driver’s license
  • You refuse to submit to or do not successfully complete any tests when you are arrested for driving under the influence
  • You are pulled over for an underage DUI.

Arizona courts require Ignition Interlock Devices (IID) for all DUI offenders. You are required to pay for all costs associated with the IID, from installation, monthly lease payments, and service fees to removal. In addition, you will be required to complete alcohol or drug screening before you can obtain a restricted permit or reinstate your driving privilege.

How to Get Your License Quickly in Arizona

  1. Contact the Arizona Motor Vehicle Division (MVD) to have your driving record reviewed. The MVD will determine if you meet the requirements for a new driver’s license per the revocation/suspension period.
  2. Complete Part A of the Revocation Application. The remaining sections should be completed with the assistance of:
    • A Court Clerk, Arizona Department of Corrections parole/probation officer, or Judge – Part B
    • A Substance-Abuse Counselor, Physician or Psychologist – Part C
  3. If the MVD says you are eligible for reinstatement of your driver’s license, schedule an appointment to have your Interlock Device installed with an approved Smart Start Ignition Interlock service provider by calling (800) 831-3299.
  4. Call your insurance agent to get proof of Future Financial Responsibility known as an SR-22.
  5. Once you have an SR-22 and get an IID installed, visit the MVD and submit your SR-22 along with payment for the application fee and $20 reinstatement fee.
  6. Complete any pending court regulations.

DISCLAIMER: These steps may not be a complete representation of what you must do to regain your license. As DUI case details vary by each individual, please do not see this step-by-step guide as an official process to regaining your license, but rather as a starting point only.

How Much Does a DUI Cost in Arizona?

ARIZONA DUI OffenseJail TimeFee
*IID fees not included
Suspended License Period
First DUI in ArizonaAt least 10 consecutive daysAt least $1,250*Other commitments may be required
Second and subsequent offensesAt least 90 daysUp to $3,0001 year
Extreme DUI (alcohol concentration of .15 or higher)
First DUI in ArizonaAt least 30 consecutive daysAt least $2,500*Other commitments may be required
Second and subsequent offensesAt least 120 daysAt least $3,2501 year
Aggravated DUI
DUI while suspended, revoked or canceled; third DUI in 84 months; DUI with person under 15 in vehicle; or refuses to submit a blood alcohol test while under IID requirement
At least 2 years in prison1 year
*Other commitments may be required

Effective July 1, 2018, per A.R.S. 28-1462, the State of Arizona requires each Ignition Interlock Provider to collect a $20.00 State Installation Fee that is to be remitted to the State. This is in addition to any applicable installation fees that may be due to the Ignition Interlock Provider for services rendered.

For additional information and resources to help you regain your license in Arizona, refer to these links: