What happens after I get my DUI?
If you get your DUI in Arizona, you’ll most likely be held in the county jail for 24 hours. Then you’ll be given a court date and an arraignment. You’ll enter a plea of guilty or not guilty, then your case will go to trial. If you’re found not guilty, your case will be dismissed. If you’re found guilty, your driver’s license will be suspended for 90 days. Then, you’ll go through treatment, alcohol screening, traffic survival school, and an ignition interlock requirement. (These requirements vary on a case-by-case basis. For example, the defendant does not always serve time in the county jail for 24 hours and they are not always suspended for 90 days.)
What is a Special Ignition Interlock Restricted Driver License (SIIRDL)?
This Ignition Interlock Device (IID) program is optional. If you refuse the field sobriety test or refuse to give a blood test, the state of Arizona automatically suspends your license for one year. You must serve the first 90 days of this suspension, and then you will have the option to put an IID on your vehicle for the remaining nine months of this suspension. This restricted driver’s license is to go to work, school or DUI classes. If convicted of a DUI, after the SIIRDL time ends, you then must reinstate your license and begin the actual IID program with the Motor Vehicle Department (MVD). Again, the SIIRDL is not mandatory but a good option to get to work while on a suspended license.
What do I need to bring to my installation?
Once you have scheduled your Ignition Interlock Device (IID) installation with Smart Start, you will need to bring your photo ID and your letter from the Motor Vehicle Department (MVD) to your IID installation appointment. You will also need to bring your title and/or registration. If the vehicle is not in your name, the registered owner needs to be present at the time of installation and must complete a “Consent to Install” form for you.
What should I bring back to my monitoring authority after my device is installed?
How do I know if Smart Start’s devices are compliant with my program?
Smart Start is on the list of approved ignition interlock providers for the state of Arizona. Smart Start’s devices also meet the standards set by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), as well as all state and federal requirements, so you can rest assured that Smart Start’s devices are compliant with your program.
What happens if I violate?
How often does my IID need to be serviced?
Arizona law states that your Ignition Interlock Device (IID) needs to be serviced every 30 or 60 days, depending on the program. For example, if you are on the deferment program, you will be required to come in every 30 days. If you have the IID for 12-18 months, you have the option of coming in every 60 days after your first 90 days on the program.
How do the consequences differ for a first and second DUI? Third? Fourth?
For the first DUI, if it is a regular DUI, you will still be ordered to have the Ignition Interlock Device (IID) for 12 months. However, after six months, the Arizona Motor Vehicle Department (MVD) will review your record and possibly allow you to remove your IID if there are no violations and you have completed the necessary classes. If your first DUI is an extreme, you will be ordered for 12 months with no possibility for an early removal.
2nd DUI and subsequent DUIs require an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) for 18 months. The jail time requirement is longer on subsequent DUI arrests.
What do I need for removal?
In order to remove your Ignition Interlock Device (IID) in the state of Arizona, you must have a new, unrestricted driver’s license or a letter of approval from the Arizona Motor Vehicle Department (MVD). If you elect to remove before the term is completed, you will be charged an early termination fee.
What if I have a requirement, but I don’t own a vehicle?
In Arizona, if you have an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) requirement, but you don’t own a vehicle, you will need to borrow a vehicle from a friend or family member to fulfill your ignition interlock requirement. If you are installing the IID on someone else’s vehicle, the Registered Owner (RO) will need to be present at the time of the installation to complete a consent form.
Do I need the device on all of my vehicles?
Per Arizona state law, you will need the Ignition Interlock Device (IID) on all of the vehicles that you plan on operating during your ignition interlock requirement. If you get pulled over driving a vehicle not equipped with an IID, you will receive a 12-month extension on the ignition interlock program.
What constitutes a violation in my state?
In the state of Arizona, any and all of the following may constitute as a violation:
- Tampering with the Ignition Interlock Device (IID)
- Skipping a rolling re-test
- Any test in which the breath sample has alcohol content exceeding .02
- Operating a vehicle without an Ignition Interlock Device would constitute as a violation with the state
What do I need to do to install voluntarily?
To install an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) on your vehicle or a family member’s vehicle voluntarily, click the chat window on the SmartStartInc.com web site and complete our online form or call Smart Start at 800.831.3299 to speak with one of our customer care advocates and schedule a voluntary installation appointment. Make sure to bring your photo ID, vehicle registration and proof of vehicle insurance. Check to see if your insurance offers any discounts for voluntary interlock installation—especially for children going off to college.
How do I know if I need a camera/GPS/etc.?
In Arizona, your court or monitoring authority will let you know if you need any additional features like a camera or GPS.
Where does installation fall based on my condition?
In Arizona, you can install the Ignition Interlock Device (IID) at any time, but you may need to wait until your ignition interlock requirement begins to get credit. For a more concrete answer that addresses the specifics of your individual ignition interlock requirement, consult your monitoring authority or local Motor Vehicle Department (MVD).
Does the camera watch me all the time?
No, the camera will only take a picture as you provide a breath sample for the device. There is no live video feed.
How do I know what my state requires in an Ignition Interlock Device?
The state of Arizona releases a list of approved ignition interlock providers. All providers on that list produce ignition interlocks that are compliant with state requirements. Because Smart Start is on the list of approved, certified Ignition Interlock Device (IID) providers in the state of Arizona, you can be sure that all of our devices are compliant with your program.
How can I pay for calibration?
You can pay for calibration via cash, credit card, debit card or money order at the Smart Start service center at the time of service.
Where do I send a record of my service appointments?
Smart Start will send a record of your service appointments to your monitoring authority on your behalf at no additional cost to you.
Does this thing hurt my vehicle?
No, Smart Start’s Ignition Interlock Device will not harm your vehicle in any way.