What happens after I get my DUI? How do the consequences differ for a first and second DUI?
Once you receive a DUI in Rhode Island, you will be subject to the state’s Ignition Interlock Device (IID) laws. If you are convicted of a DUI in court, you will automatically receive a 45-day, hard license suspension. Afterward, how long you will need an IID depends on, but is not limited to: your BAC level at time of offense; repeat traffic offenses; age; and your overall driving history.
What do I need to bring to my installation?
Once you have scheduled your Ignition Interlock Device (IID) installation in Rhode Island, you will need to bring the following to your IID installation appointment:
- Proof of identification with picture
- Vehicle registration
- Current utility bill with your name and address on it
- Payment for installation and your first month’s lease
If you’re installing an IID on a vehicle that is not yours, the owner of that vehicle will need to come with you.
What should I bring back to my monitoring authority after my device is installed?
Once you have installed the Ignition Interlock Device, you will need to bring proof of installation to the Rhode Island Division of Motor Vehicles (RIDMV).
How do I know if Smart Start’s devices are compliant with my program?
Smart Start is on the approved list of Ignition Interlock providers for the state of Rhode Island – rest assured that our Ignition Interlock Device (IID) will be compliant with your program. Smart Start’s IID also meets the standards set by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA).
What happens if I violate?
If you violate in the state of Rhode Island, your Ignition Interlock Device (IID) will go into temporary lockout and will need to be serviced. A report of your violation will be forwarded to the Rhode Island Division of Motor Vehicles (RIDMV) and your probation officer for follow-up action. RIDMV and/or your probation officer may impose additional consequences.
How often does my IID need to be serviced?
Rhode Island law states that you must service your Ignition Interlock Device (IID) every 30 days.
What do I need for removal?
In order to remove your Ignition Interlock Device (IID) in the state of Rhode Island, you will need written permission from the Rhode Island Division of Motor Vehicles (RIDMV).
What if I have a requirement, but I don’t own a vehicle?
If you have an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) requirement but you don’t own a vehicle, you can install the IID on a borrowed vehicle as long as you have permission from the registered owner. That owner will need to accompany you to your installation appointment.
Do I need the device on all of my vehicles?
Yes, Rhode Island law dictates that you must install an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) on all of your vehicles.
Where can I go for service? Anywhere, or just within my state?
Rhode Island law states that you can service your ignition interlock device (IID) at any Smart Start service center nationwide.
What constitutes a violation in my state?
In the state of Rhode Island, any and all of the following may constitute a violation:
- Any initial breath alcohol content (BrAC) over .025 percent
- Any failed rolling re-test
- Any refused rolling re-test
- Any instances of circumvention and/or tampering with the Ignition Interlock Device (IID)
- A missed service appointment
What do I need to do to install voluntarily?
To install an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) on your vehicle or a family member’s vehicle voluntarily, click the chat window below, fill out our online form, or call Smart Start at 800.831.3299 to speak with one of our customer care advocates and schedule a voluntary installation appointment. Check to see if your insurance offers any discounts for voluntary interlock installation—especially for children going off to college.
How do I know if I need a camera/GPS/etc.?
Neither a camera nor a GPS is required in Rhode Island, but your judge may order those additions. Check with your attorney to determine if you have additional requirements.
Does the camera watch me all the time?
No. It only takes pictures of your test; there is no live video feed.
How do I know who my monitoring authority is?
The Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) Driver Control is the primary monitoring authority in Rhode Island.
How do I know what my state requires in an Ignition Interlock Device?
Smart Start is on the approved Ignition Interlock vendors list and is National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA)-approved, so you can be sure that our devices will meet the terms of your program.
How can I pay for calibration?
In Rhode Island, you can pay for calibration by credit or debit card at the service center at the time of service.
Where do I send a record of my service appointments?
Smart Start will send a record of your service appointments to your monitoring authority on your behalf at no additional cost to you, but please keep a copy in case of any questions that may arise.
Does this thing hurt my vehicle?
No, Smart Start’s Ignition Interlock Device (IID) will not harm your vehicle or vehicle battery.
Can I get one on my motorcycle?
Motorcycle Ignition Interlock installation laws differ by state. Smart Start operates throughout the U.S. as a certified manufacturer and will work harder than other companies to provide you a seamless Interlock program that still follows your case requirements in the state of Rhode Island. Please call our Customer Care Center at 800-831-3299 if you have any questions.