What happens after I get my DUI?
In the state of Arkansas, once you’re released with your DWI, you’ll need to go into a Driver Control office. The Driver Control office will provide you with a list of approved ignition interlock providers in the state of Arkansas. From that point, you’ll need to call Smart Start at 800.831.3299 to schedule an installation appointment. Once you’ve installed, you’ll need to send proof of installation back to your monitoring authority, at which point your restricted license will be issued. Your requirement period begins once your restricted license is issued.
What do I need to bring to my installation?
Once you have scheduled your Ignition Interlock Device (IID) installation with Smart Start, you will need to bring your first month’s lease payment to your IID installation appointment.
What should I bring back to my monitoring authority after my device is installed?
Once the Smart Start Ignition Interlock Device is installed, you will need to bring proof of installation to Driver Control to get your restricted license.
How do I know if Smart Start’s devices are compliant with my program?
Smart Start is on the list of approved ignition interlock providers in the state of Arkansas. Our devices are compliant with all state and federal regulations, and we are certified as an IID provider by Driver Control in Arkansas. Additionally, our Ignition Interlock Devices are certified by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA).
What happens if I violate?
You are allowed five violations per service period in the state of Arkansas. After five violations, your device will enter into a violation lockout countdown, during which you have 48 hours to get your device serviced at your nearest Smart Start service center before you are locked out completely. Smart Start does, however, allow one six-hour unlock code once your device is locked out.
How often does my IID need to be serviced?
Arkansas state law indicates that your Ignition Interlock Device should be serviced every 67 days. (You’re allowed a seven-day grace period after 60 days.) Your 60 days begin on the date of installation.
What if I have a requirement, but I don’t own a vehicle?
Arkansas law dictates that any vehicle you operate during your requirement must have an Ignition Interlock Device installed, even if the vehicle is not registered to you. If you have an ignition interlock requirement, but you don’t own a vehicle, you may borrow a friend or family member’s vehicle to satisfy the terms of your requirement.
Do I need the device on all of my vehicles?
The state of Arkansas says that you only need the device on any vehicles you will be operating during your time of requirement.
What constitutes a violation in my state?
In the state of Arkansas, any and all of the following may constitute a violation:
- Any breath sample indicating alcohol content over a .025
- A skipped rolling re-test
- Failure to come in for service
What do I need to do to install voluntarily?
To install a breath alcohol Ignition Interlock Device on your vehicle or a family member’s vehicle voluntarily, click the chat window below, fill out our online form, or call Smart Start at 800.831.3299 to speak with one of our customer care advocates and schedule a voluntary installation appointment. Make sure you let your customer care advocate know that you will not have a permit number or case number.
How do I know if I need a camera/GPS/etc.?
The state of Arkansas does not require a camera or GPS currently.
How do I know what my state requires in an Ignition Interlock Device?
How can I pay for calibration?
You can pay by credit card or debit card at the Smart Start service center at the time of calibration.
Where do I send a record of my service appointments?
Smart Start will send a record of your service appointments to Driver Control on your behalf at no additional cost to you.
Does this thing hurt my vehicle?
No, Smart Start’s Ignition Interlock Device—commonly called a “blow and go” or a “car breathalyzer”—will not hurt your vehicle in any way.
Can I get one on my motorcycle?
Motorcycle Ignition Interlock installation laws differ by state. Smart Start operates throughout the U.S. as a certified manufacturer and will work harder than other companies to provide you a seamless Interlock program that still follows your case requirements in the state of Arkansas. Please call our Customer Care Center at 800-831-3299 if you have any questions.