Alabama Ignition Interlock Laws

For first-time offenders and repeat DUI offenders, Alabama courts require you to install and maintain an ignition interlock device (IID) on your vehicle if:

  • Your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level was .08 or higher (repeat offenders only)
  • You were involved in an injury type accident
  • A child under 14 years old was in the vehicle
  • You refused a breath test

You’re also required to pay for all costs associated with the IID, from installation, monthly lease payments, service fees to removal. You may also be required to attend a DUI or substance abuse court referral program. As a repeat DUI offender, your vehicle may be seized.

Please note for first-time offenders with a BAC level of .08 or higher but lower than .15, Ignition Interlock Device installation is voluntary, but will expedite the reinstatement process so you get your license faster. Please refer to this Alabama Ignition Interlock Reference Guide for a more comprehensive review of DUI offenses and their respective requirements, as well as Alabama’s post-conviction general process/procedure.

How to Get Your License Quickly in Alabama

  1. Complete your jail sentence and wait out your suspension period (if applicable).
  2. Attend DUI school (if applicable).
  3. File a Request for Reinstatement Requirements (DI-46a).
  4. Contact your insurance agent to get proof of SR-22 insurance.
  5. Call (800) 831-3299 to schedule an appointment to have your interlock device installed with an approved Smart Start interlock service provider.
  6. Visit an Alabama driver’s license office to complete your reinstatement. You’ll need to bring all of your paperwork with the required fee. Call (334) 242-4400 to find the license reinstatement location nearest you.
  7. Complete any pending court regulations.

DISCLAIMER: These steps may not be a complete representation of what you must do to regain your license. As DUI case details vary by each individual, please do not see this step-by-step guide as an official process to regaining your license, but rather as a starting point only.

How Much Does a DUI Cost in Alabama?

DWI OffenseJail TimeFeeSuspended License Period
FirstUp to 1 year$600 to $2,10090 days
Second2 days to 1 year$1,100 to $5,1001 year
Third60 days to 1 year$2,100 to $10,1003 years
Fourth365 days to 10 years$4,100 to $10,1005 years

*Additional fees, jail time and suspension periods may apply.

For additional information and resources, please refer to the links below: