Wisconsin Ignition Interlock Device Questions

The state of Wisconsin requires an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) for most alcohol-related offenses. If you are a repeat OWI offender, or if it was your first offense with a BAC level of .15 or greater, you will need an IID. IID orders mean it applies to every vehicle you own, and your driving privilege is restricted to operating only IID-equipped vehicles. All OWI convictions include license revocation or suspension periods. 

You can apply for a Huber (Occupational License) from the Wisconsin Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV), depending on various factors of your case. This license gives you the ability to drive to work and/or school, and back. Keep in mind that Wisconsin law requires you to have an IID installed in every vehicle registered in your name before applying for a Huber. 

Once you have scheduled your ignition interlock device installation with Smart Start, you will need to bring the following to your IID installation appointment:

  1. Driver’s license or state-issued ID
  2. A copy of your court order
  3. Payment for your first month’s lease and installation

Smart Start will provide an installation notification, which we will send electronically to the Department of Transportation in Wisconsin.

Smart Start Wisconsin’s devices are compliant with all state and federal requirements, and we are certified as a provider of the installation and service of ignition interlock devices (IIDs). Our devices have also passed stringent testing through the Wisconsin Department of Transportation (WI DOT), and are tested and certified by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA).

If you violate in the state of Wisconsin, a violation report is sent to your local sheriff department.  Your local sheriff’s department will verify the violation and determine whether or not to take action.

Wisconsin state law requires that you service your ignition interlock device (IID) every 60 days.

Ignition Interlock Devices (IID’s) in Wisconsin are usually required for a minimum of one year, but will vary case by case. To operate your vehicle again, you need to be issued an Occupational License.
The DMV website states that you will be eligible for an Occupational License under the following conditions:

1st OWI: immediately eligible

2nd OWI and up: 45 days before eligible

Causing injury while intoxicated: 60 days before eligible

Great bodily harm: 120 days before eligible

Negligent homicide while intoxicated: 120 days before eligible

1st refusal to provide a breath sample: 30 days before eligible

2nd refusal: 90 days before eligible

3rd refusal: 120 days before eligible

A fourth OWI offense is a felony if it is within five years of an earlier offense.

In the state of Wisconsin, Smart Start will remove your ignition interlock device (IID) upon request.  We do not require any paperwork for removal.  However, please understand that, if you remove your ignition interlock device before you have fulfilled your order, you may suffer additional consequences, you may not be able to drive your vehicle, or your time with the ignition interlock device may not count.

Even if you do not own a vehicle, your operating privilege is restricted to only operating vehicles with an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) installed. Even if you borrow, lease, or rent a vehicle, it must be equipped with an IID for you to legally operate it.

Wisconsin state law requires that all vehicles registered to you be equipped with the Ignition Interlock Device (IID)However, you can request a hardship, which needs to be approved by the judge. 

Wisconsin law states that your ignition interlock device (IID) can be installed and service at any Smart Start service center nationwide.

According to the Wisconsin Department of Transportation website, a violation is recorded when you receive a FAIL notice on your Ignition Interlock Device. This is different from a “violation reset”. A violation will also be recorded if you receive an ABORT warning 2 or more times and if you receive a REFUSAL after 5 minutes. 

In the state of Wisconsin, any and all of the following may constitute a “violation reset”: 

  1. Accumulation of three violations within a 60-day service interval 
  2. The device detects a sample that is not from a person (circumvention) 
  3. The device is disconnected while the vehicle is running (tampering) 

If you violate, the next time you attempt to start the vehicle, the Ignition Interlock Device will display a flashing light and a message indicating that service is required. As soon as you see this indicator, you must contact Smart Start to schedule an appointment for service. You will be required to return for service within 7 days and pay a violation reset fee. 

The sheriff in the county where you live (not necessarily where you were convicted) is immediately notified after the violation reset service.  The sheriff will also be notified if tampering is detected during the vehicle inspection or if you do not report for regularly scheduled service. The District Attorney could pursue legal action if your Ignition Interlock Device (IID) has been circumvented, disconnected, removed, or if tampering has occurred. 

To install an ignition interlock device (IID) on your vehicle or a family member’s vehicle voluntarily, click the chat window below, fill out our online form, or call Smart Start at 800.831.3299 to speak with one of our customer care advocates and schedule a voluntary installation appointment.  You may also be required to pay a security deposit.

The state of Wisconsin currently requires a camera and cellular/GPS features with your Ignition Interlock Device (IID).

The court has the discretion to order Ignition Interlock Device (IID) installation before the case is adjudicated or post-conviction, when you are eligible for a driver license.  If you are serving a sentence in county jail and qualify for daily work release, you will have two weeks to show proof of having an IID installed. Failure to do so will result in revocation of work release privilege.

No, the camera only takes a picture when you are asked to provide a breath sampleThe camera does not take videos, and there is no live streaming. 

In the state of Wisconsin, your State authority will be your local sheriff’s office.

Smart Start is an approved, certified Ignition Interlock Device provider in the state of Wisconsin, so you can be sure that all of our devices meet any necessary state and federal regulations.  For a more comprehensive list of state requirements for an Ignition Interlock Device, please visit WisconsinDOT.gov.

You can pay for your calibration through our online portal. All services in Wisconsin require you to pay beforehand, none of our service centers take payments at the time of service. 

Smart Start of Wisconsin will automatically send a record of your service appointments to your State authority on your behalf at no extra charge to you.

Not at all.  Smart Start’s technicians are certified to safely install and service your Ignition Interlock Device (IID) so that no harm comes to your vehicle.

Wisconsin does not allow an IID to be installed on motorcycles.

Yes, the Ignition Interlock Device (IID) is connected to your vehicle’s horn and lights.  They will sound and become visible if you have failed a rolling retest while the vehicle is running or you miss a rolling retest request. However, this connection will not harm your vehicle in any way.