Kansas Ignition Interlock Laws

For first-time offenders and repeat DUI offenders in Kansas, your license will be confiscated immediately per the Administrative License Revocation (ALR) if:

  • Your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level was .08 or higher
  • You refused a breath test

The Kansas State DMV requires Ignition Interlock Devices (IID) for all DUI offenders. You’re required to pay for all costs associated with the IID, from installation, monthly lease payments, and service fees to removal.

How to Get Your License Quickly in Kansas

  1. Obtain an ignition interlock permit from the Kansas Department of Revenue. You will receive instructions from the DMV on how to complete this task.
  2. Serve 45 days of ‘hard suspension.’ After this period you can apply to modify your license to drive. Once your application is approved, you can drive, with an installed interlock, to and from work or school during the remainder of the suspension (if you choose to modify your license). Once your suspension period is satisfied, you can then serve the restricted period where you can drive anywhere with the interlock.
  3. Schedule an appointment to have your ignition interlock installed with an approved Smart Start interlock service provider by calling 800.831.3299. Remember: if you are not eligible, you cannot legally drive.
  4. Bring all of your paperwork to the Smart Start installation service center. The center will notify the Driver Control Bureau of your installation.
  5. Complete any pending court regulations.

DISCLAIMER: These steps may not be a complete representation of what you must do to regain your license. As DUI case details vary by each individual, please do not see this step-by-step guide as an official process to regaining your license, but rather as a starting point only.

How Much Does a DUI Cost in Kansas?

Please note that your situation, including specific BAC level, will warrant unique penalties and sanctions as well as jail time and suspended license period. For a more in-depth outline of penalties based on BAC levels, please review the Alcohol Actions Chart.

DUI OffenseJail TimeFee
*IID fees not included
Suspended License Period
First48 hours or 100 hours community service$500 to $1,00030 days to 1 year
Second90 days to 1 year$1,000 to $1,5001 year
Third90 days to 1 year$1,500 to $2,5001 year
Fourth90 days to 1 year$2,5001 year
Fifth90 days to 1 year$2,5001 year with a 10-year interlock requirement

*Additional fees, jail time, and suspension periods may apply.

For additional information and resources to help you regain your license in Kansas, refer to these links:

Want to learn more about how to follow the rules when using your Ignition Interlock Device in Kansas? See these resources below: