Do you know what to expect with a DUI first offense in Colorado?
If you have no other alcohol or drug-related driving convictions on your record, below is a list of what can occur as a result of a first DUI offense in Colorado.
|Jail-time||Between 10 days to one year|
|Fines||Court costs range from $900 to $2,400, but do not include required condition fees such as alcohol classes, probation costs, insurance costs, etc.|
|Community Service||48 to 96 hours|
|Probation||This varies on your case, but can last up to two years|
If convicted of a DUI, your probation sentence can include the following requirements to complete.
- Attend a victim impact panel by MADD within 60 days after your hearing
- Monitored sobriety for at least half the sentence if applicable
- You must enroll in a Level II drug and alcohol education and treatment program. Your attorney may have already advised you to enroll before your hearing.
- Install an Ignition Interlock. You may have already installed the Ignition Interlock based on your attorney’s recommendation before your court hearing/conviction.
You can expect to keep an Ignition Interlock installed in your vehicle between eight to 24 months. The period with your Ignition Interlock depends on the severity of your case, or how many DUIs you’ve been convicted of in the past.
When an Ignition Interlock is Needed For a DUI First Offense in Colorado
1st Per Se or DUI conviction
If your BAC was under .15, you must have the device for eight months.
If your BAC was .15 or greater, you need the Ignition Interlock for 24 months.
For either situation with your BAC level, you may be able to reinstate early after serving one month of your revocation (license cancellation) period.
Chemical Test Refusals
Test refusals are an automatic two-year (or 24-month) Ignition Interlock requirement, regardless of your offense number. If you refused your chemical test, and you lose your court hearing, you cannot drive for 60 days. Then, you must comply with the same license reinstatement process and have the Ignition Interlock for 24 months.
You can read more about what to expect with an Ignition Interlock in Colorado on our blog.
Other Helpful Colorado DUI Posts
- Tips for Early Removal of Ignition Interlock
- How Do I Qualify for Ignition Interlock Financial Assistance?
- Colorado Interlock Circumvention: Everything Drivers Need to Know
- Ignition Interlock Maintenance in Cold Weather
Have any questions? Smart Start is the ultimate Ignition Interlock provider in Colorado with same-day installations, an affordable program and a discreet device. We will help walk you through the process to get you back on the road in Colorado.
Ready to Install Your Ignition Interlock?
Schedule an Installation
Save up to $200* on your installation just by providing some details. Let's get started.