Getting an OUI in Connecticut
If you’re a first-offender, here are some quick answers to questions you may have about an OUI in Connecticut.
Can I continue to drive?
There are two separate license suspensions or revocations for a OUI in Connecticut: One when you’re arrested and a different one if you’re convicted.
The first is an administrative suspension. After your arrest, the Connecticut DMV will impose a suspension of 45 days, along with a six-month Ignition Interlock requirement. It will generally begin within 30 days of the arrest date.
If you are convicted, your license could be suspended for at least 45 days, with an Ignition Interlock requirement in Connecticut of at least 6 months. This is separate from the administrative penalty, although the two may overlap. They do not run consecutively.
You may be eligible to continue to drive if you:
- Obtain a Special Operator’s Permit.
- Install an Ignition Interlock Device (car breathalyzer) on any vehicles you drive.
- Obtain an SR-22 certificate in Connecticut verifying that you are carrying the amount of auto insurance required by law.
What are the penalties if I’m convicted?
With no other factors – such as injury, property damage, excessive Blood Alcohol Content (BAC), under the age of 21, and so on – conviction will involve:
- First offense: 48 hours to 6 months
- Second offense: 120 days to 2 years
- Subsequent offenses: 1 to 3 years
- First offense: $500 to $1,000
- Second offense: $1,000 to $4,000
- Subsequent offenses: $2,000 to $8,000
- First offense: 45 days
- Second offense: 45 days
- Subsequent offenses: Permanent
If you’re a first offender, the judge has the option of suspending all but 48 hours of your prison time. You’ll also be allowed to substitute 100 hours of community service in place of the 48 hours.
Plea bargains are not allowed in Connecticut. However, first-time offenders can participate in court-ordered diversion in a pre-trial alcohol education program. Successful completion entitles you to dismissal of your charges, although this option can be used only once every 10 years.
How long will I have an Ignition Interlock Device (car breathalyzer) in Connecticut?
Drivers under 21 years old
- First offense: 1 year
- Second offense: 2 years
- Subsequent offenses: 3 years
Drivers 21 years old and older
- First offense: 6 months
- Second offense: 1 year
- Subsequent offenses: 2 years
What should I do next?
Start by getting an Ignition Interlock quote in Connecticut using the form on this page.