For first-time offenders and repeat DUI offenders, your license will be confiscated immediately per Florida’s Administrative License Revocation (ALR) if:
- Your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level was .08 or higher
- You refused a breath test
Florida’s Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) may also require you to install and maintain an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) on your vehicle. You’re required to pay for all costs associated with the IID, from installation, monthly lease payments, service fees to removal. You may also be required to pay additional court fines and costs related to your DUI as well as enroll in alcohol monitoring programs.
How to Get Your License Quickly in Florida
- Apply for your hardship license through the DHSMV.
- Complete a 12-hour Florida Advanced Driver Improvement course and related requirements.
- Contact your county clerk to get your 30-day driving record.
- Contact your insurance agent to get proof of SR-22 insurance or other financial accountability.
- Call 1.800.831.3299 to schedule an appointment to have your Florida interlock device installed with an approved Smart Start interlock service provider.
- Go to the DHSMV with all of your paperwork and pay all of your fines and related costs. Then, you’ll receive your hardship license.
- Complete any pending court regulations.