What to Expect After a First DUI in Utah
We understand that a first DUI in Utah can be overwhelming. You may be asking yourself, what consequences can I expect, and what are the next steps to get my full driving privileges back? Let’s go over a typical time for a first DUI in Utah so you’ll know exactly what to do.
First DUI in Utah Timeline
First, you should know that drinking and driving in Utah poses the risk of being charged with two crimes. One is driving under the influence (DUI) and the second is driving while over the limit with a BAC at or over .05. You should also know that the penalties with a DUI in Utah come from the court and the Department of Public Safety related to your driver’s license.
Arrest and License Suspension
When you are arrested upon a DUI charge, your driver’s license is immediately confiscated by the arresting officer. The officer will provide you a temporary citation to drive that expires in 29 dates from your arrest date. If a Hearing Request Form is not submitted by the 30th day from your arrest, your driver’s license will be automatically suspended by the Driver’s License Division, and you will be unable to continue driving. For a BAC test refusal, your license will likely be under a revocation period between 18 to 36 months.
In any case, there are several requirements you must satisfy to reinstate your license, or to apply for an Alcohol/Drug-Related Limited License. These requirements can include fees and passing a driver’s test again, as well as an Ignition Interlock Device in your vehicle.
Remember that this process is under the Department of Public Safety regarding your driver’s license, not your court case.
Now let’s go over what you can expect from the court for your DUI.
After your arrest and bail, you may want to hire a certified Utah DUI lawyer before your arraignment. You may be negotiating your plea bargain through the arraignment, pre-trial conference and suppression hearing, although if you hire an attorney, they will represent you and you will not have to appear for these court hearings. If you have one, your attorney will advise you on what to do.
When you have a DUI conviction in Utah, you become an “alcohol-restricted driver.” This means that you are prohibited from driving with any amount of alcohol in your system. The length of this restriction period depends on the circumstances surrounding your DUI case. This also means that any vehicle you own or operate must have an Ignition Interlock.
Below are the consequences you may face under a first DUI conviction in Utah.
- Jail-time: a first DUI offense can result in 48 hours to six months of jail-time, however this sentence length is at the court’s discretion.
- Community service: you may perform 48 hours of community service in lieu of jail-time
- Alcohol assessment: there may be a requirement for you to attend a state-approved, alcohol and drug educational program
- SR-22: You’ll need to file and maintain an SR-22 for three years. This must be obtained prior to your license reinstatement.
- Ignition Interlock Device
Let’s go over your Ignition Interlock Device requirement in more detail, and how Smart Start can help you get back on the road.
Ignition Interlock Device Requirement in Utah
There is a way for you to drive again sooner rather than later if you have a DUI. An Ignition Interlock Device is likely a requirement for you to receive limited driving privileges during your license suspension period. If you are 21-years-old or over and this is your first DUI charge, your suspension will likely last 120 days. If you are under 21-years-old, the suspension period will last six months.
In any case, if your Ignition Interlock provider is Smart Start, you’ll be in good hands during your program. We will assist you from installation to removal of your device with fair pricing, excellent service and a discreet Ignition Interlock. Not only that, but we’ve helped thousands of Utah drivers get back on the road.
Install a Smart Start Ignition Interlock
If you need to schedule an installation appointment, we’re here for you. Just call our friendly team at (800) 831-3299 or fill out our online form.
Schedule an Installation
Save up to $300* over the course of your IID program vs. other national competitors. Get started today!
Ahorre hasta 300 $* en el curso de su programa IID en comparación con otros conpetidores nacionales. ¡Empieza hoy!
"* (required)" indicates required fields