What to Expect After a First DUI in Nevada

male holding car keys

Got a first DUI in Nevada? This may feel overwhelming now, but with the right help by your side, you can put this behind you. If you do need to install an Ignition Interlock in Nevada because of your DUI, make sure to give Smart Start a call right away at (800) 831-3299 or fill out our online form. We’ll take it from there and get you back on the road the quickest! But let’s take a few steps back and go over what to expect after a first DUI in Nevada.

A First DUI in Nevada Timeline

First, after your DUI arrest and performing a breath and/or blood test, you are released from jail on your own recognizance or bail. You may not be asked to perform a breath test, but a blood test is necessary in Nevada if you are suspected of a DUI. Official recognizance means you aren’t paying bail, but you make a promise to the court that you will attend a future hearing regarding your DUI.

Hiring a DUI Attorney, Arraignment and Pre-Trial Conference

At this point, you may want to hire a Nevada DUI attorney soon. An attorney can assist you on your next best steps to take during your DUI case. If you pursue this route, hire the attorney within 14 days of your arrest date, because your court arraignment typically occurs a few weeks after your arrest. An arraignment will not occur only if prosecution does not have enough evidence to press charges. At the arraignment, your defense attorney may attend in your stead. Depending on the arraignment outcome, the judge will schedule your next court date, which is typically a few weeks later.

This second court date is your pre-trial conference. At this meeting, your attorney will discuss with the District Attorney and negotiate the best possible plea bargain for you.

Since the pre-trial conference takes place six weeks after your arraignment, your hearing with the Department of Motor Vehicles may have occurred already as well. Let’s go into how you are involved with the DMV and your license because of a DUI.

DMV Driver’s License Penalties

If you are charged with a first DUI in Nevada, your driver’s license will likely be suspended by the DMV. The administrative penalties for a first DUI are the following:

  • A 90-day license revocation
    • License revocation lasts 12 months for test refusals
  • A Victims Compensation Civil Penalty of $35
  • Driver’s license, testing and reinstatement fees
  • Maintain an SR-22 Certificate of Liability for three years
  • An Ignition Interlock Device for three to six months

If there are any aggravating circumstances around your DUI, the penalties will likely be higher.

You may be eligible for a restricted driver’s license with an Ignition Interlock after you have served a portion of your revocation time. You must wait 45 days before applying for this restricted license. You’ll need to fill out Form DMV-21, which is the Application for Restricted License. Your attorney can advise you on what to do to obtain this restricted driver’s license if you’re eligible.

Now let’s get into your court sentencing and conviction penalties, which are separate from your DMV penalties. Your court sentencing can occur anywhere from six to eight months from your arrest date on a typical basis.

Court Sentencing for a First DUI in Nevada

Nevada DUI penalties depend on many factors, such as your driving history, whether anyone was hurt or killed from the incident and whether your charge is a misdemeanor or a felony. If you are found guilty at your court sentencing, the following penalties will occur for a first DUI conviction in Nevada.

  • Fines
  • Community service
  • Jail
  • Nevada DUI school
  • A MADD Victim Impact Panel
  • An Ignition Interlock Device
  • 90-day license suspension (possible to obtain a restricted license after 45 days)

Installing an Ignition Interlock Device in Nevada

Nevada has an “all-offender” Ignition Interlock law, which means that someone with a first DUI may need to install the device. If you do need an Ignition Interlock, Smart Start is here to help as the worldwide provider with fair pricing, convenient locations and 24/7/365 customer service. You’ll be driving legally again in no time so you can meet your Nevada DUI requirements right away.

Schedule your installation appointment today by calling (800) 831-3299 or by filling out our online form.