Are you wondering if you need an Ignition Interlock in Nebraska? For most DUI cases, you will likely need to install a device into your vehicle. Let’s go over the different circumstances surrounding when you’ll need an Ignition Interlock in Nebraska, and for how long.
Ignition Interlock Requirements in Nebraska
When you were pulled over for suspicion of DUI, or Driving Under the Influence, your driver’s license may have been confiscated. This is called the Administrative License Revocation or ALR law, authorizing law enforcement to revoke your driver’s license and your operating privileges as a result of a DUI arrest. Drivers who are eligible may receive a temporary driver’s license for 15 days.
The driver’s license revocation periods are below, depending on your arrest circumstances:
- First DUI offense and failed chemical test – 180 days
- Subsequent DUI offense within a 15-year period and failed chemical test – One year
- Test refusals – One year
Now let’s go back to the temporary license you may have received. When the temporary license expires after 15 days, you may be eligible for an Ignition Interlock Permit, or IIP, in Nebraska during your revocation period. You have the right to request an administrative hearing within 10 days from your arrest because of your revoked license, but if you waive your right, you can apply for the IIP instead if eligible. This permit allows you to drive as long as you have an Ignition Interlock installed into your vehicle.
When you can apply for the IIP depends on your hard suspension or revocation period. You need to wait out this period and install an Ignition Interlock into your vehicle before applying for the IIP. You can always call the DMV at 402-271-3985 to find out whether you’re eligible for the IIP or not and when to apply for it.
How Long is My License Revocation Period?
Below are the typical hard suspension periods in Nebraska based on your DUI circumstances.
- First-time DUI and failed the chemical test – no hard suspension period
- Prior DUI offense and failed the chemical test – your revocation period will be 45 days
- Chemical test refusals – your revocation period will be 90 days
Have any questions? The Nebraska website can show you your driving privileges status if you provide your license or social security number, your last name and your date of birth. If you have any questions about the Ignition Interlock program in Nebraska, feel free to call Smart Start at (800) 831-3299. Our friendly service agents will assist you with next steps!
Install the Most Reliable Ignition Interlock in Nebraska
If you need an affordable program, friendly service and a discreet Ignition Interlock Device, Smart Start’s got you covered. We’ll get you back on the road the quickest! All you need to do to schedule an installation appointment or ask questions is call (800) 831-3299 or fill out our online form.
Schedule an Installation
Save up to $200* on your installation just by providing some details. Let's get started.