When Do I Need an Ignition Interlock in North Carolina?

Smart Start Ignition Interlock Device Attends AIIPA Conference

You may need an Ignition Interlock in North Carolina if you are convicted or arrested for DWI. Below are different cases where an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) is mandatory in North Carolina. When you need to choose an Ignition Interlock vendor to fulfill your requirements, Smart Start can help with a reliable device, and get you back on the road.

 RecordLicense RevocationWhen Smart Start Can HelpIgnition Interlock Requirement
First DWI Conviction

(No prior conviction within 7 years of the most recent DWI offense date)

First DWI conviction and a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.15 or more1 yearWhen eligible, after 45 days from your date of conviction, you may obtain a Limited Driving Privilege (LDP). If you have an IID in your vehicle, OR at the end of one year, you become immediately eligible for a license with an IID1 year. For the use of an IID with an LDP, the North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) will issue you a credit toward 1 year
1 Prior Conviction

(Within 7 years of your most recent DWI offense date)

1 prior conviction that occurred within 3 years4 yearsWith an IID, no conviction for a motor vehicle offense, and 12 months’ abstaining from alcohol, you can apply for a conditional restored license after 2 years have elapsed from date of conviction3 years**
1 prior conviction that occurred more than 3 years earlier, and within 7 years of your most recent DWI offense date1 year – You won’t be eligible for an LDPAfter 1 year from date of conviction, you receive immediate eligibility for a license with an IID1 year

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 Prior Convictions

(Within 7 years of the most recent DWI offense date)

If on the date you were charged with your most recent DWI charge, you had 2 prior convictions that occurred within 5 yearsRevocation is permanentWith no other violations, and if you successfully used Continuous Alcohol Monitoring (CAM) for 120 days without alcohol use, then you can apply for a restored license with IID conditions in 3 years

 

If you successfully used CAM for 1 year without alcohol use, then you can apply for a restored license with IID conditions in 2 years

7 years**
If on the date you were charged with your most recent DWI charge, you had 2 prior convictions that occurred within 7 years, but do not have (1) conviction within 3 years OR (2) within 5 years1 year – You won’t be eligible for an LDPAfter 1 year, you’ll be immediately eligible for a license with an IID1 year

 

DWI convictions and punished under N.C.G.S. § 20-179 (f3)

(Laura’s Law)

Punished for DWI at aggravated level (1)Permanent revocationWith no other violations and if you successfully use Continuous Alcohol Monitoring (CAM) for 120 days without alcohol use, then you can apply for a restored license with IID conditions in 3 years

 

If you successfully use CAM for 1 year without alcohol use, then you can apply for a restored license with IID conditions in 2 years

5-7 years**
Felony DWI3 or more convictions within 10 years of most recent DWI chargePermanent revocationWith an IID, no conviction for a motor vehicle offense for 10 years, and not an excessive user of alcohol, you can apply for a conditionally restored license after 10 years has elapsed*5-7 years**
Vehicular homicide conviction based upon DWIConvicted of DWI in a crash that caused the death of anotherPermanent revocationWith an IID, no conviction for a motor vehicle offense for 5 years, and not an excessive user of alcohol or drugs, you can apply for a conditionally restored license after 5 years has elapsed*5-7 years**
Felony with serious injury

 

Serious injury caused in a crash and driver was DWI4 yearsWith an IID, no conviction for a motor vehicle offense, and 12 months’ abstaining from alcohol, you can apply for a conditional restored license after 2 years has elapsed*2-3 years**
 

Felony with aggravated serious injury

 

 

 

 

Felony aggravated serious injury is serious injury caused by an impaired driver and the driver had a prior conviction within 7 years

 

 

Permanent revocation

 

 

With no other violations, and if you successfully use Continuous Alcohol Monitoring (CAM) for 120 days without alcohol use, then you can apply for a restored license with IID conditions in 3 years

 

If you successfully use CAM for 1 year without alcohol use, then you can apply for a restored license with IID conditions in 2 years

 

 

 

7 years**

 

* Elapsed time starts from date of conviction. The law may impose other requirements such as a substance abuse assessment and treatment or education, valid automobile insurance, payment of fees, etc.

** The DMV may impose an IID as a requirement for the conditionally restored driver’s license for up to 5 years under G.S. § 20-19(e3). However, G.S. § 20-17.8 may control. When G.S. § 20-17.8 applies, if you had a BAC of 0.15 or more, an IID is required for 3 years when the revocation period was originally 4 years. When G.S. § 20-17.8 applies, if the driver had a prior conviction within 7 years and the original revocation was permanent, then the IID is required for 7 years. See G.S. § 20-17.8(c).


If you have any questions about your Ignition Interlock program, Smart Start is here to help. Our Customer Care Center stands by 24/7/365 for our clients. Just call (800) 831-3299 and a Customer Care agent will assist you.

Need an Ignition Interlock in North Carolina?

Smart Start can help you get back on the road quickly. We provide an affordable program, a reliable, 24/7/365 customer service team and an easy-to-use Ignition Interlock. Make sure to ask about any current state specials or discounts! Schedule an appointment with North Carolina’s Ignition Interlock of choice today at (800) 831-3299 or fill out our short online form.