Do you know what to do after a first DUI in Nebraska? First, don’t panic. You can pick yourself back up after this with the right representation. If you wind up needing an Ignition Interlock to reinstate your driving privileges, call Smart Start. We will get you back on the road the fastest at (800) 831-3299 or by filling out our online form. But before we address Ignition Interlocks, let’s go over what else you can expect after a first DUI in Nebraska.
A First DUI in Nebraska Timeline
In Nebraska, after your DUI arrest, your license will likely be confiscated by the arresting officer. The officer will provide you information about requesting a hearing with the Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) regarding your administrative license revocation. You’ll have 10 days to request the administrative hearing, which you can fill out online.
Keep in mind that if you lose your hearing, the DMV will not grant you an Ignition Interlock Permit (IIP), which allows you to drive your vehicle if there’s an Ignition Interlock installed until you have been sentenced in criminal court. To drive legally and safely during your license suspension period, Nevada DUI law allows you to waive your right to an administrative hearing and apply for the IIP instead.
Your license revocation time will last a year if you refused your chemical test. Otherwise, upon failing the chemical test, your license revocation period will typically last 180 days.
At this point, you may want to hire a Nebraska DUI attorney who knows the next best steps for your case. Keep in mind that your court sentencing may take up to six months from your arrest date. Prior to your sentencing, however, the court will order an alcohol assessment. You’ll also need to file for, and maintain, an SR-22 for three years.
Let’s talk about the IIP and how to obtain this permit if you’re eligible.
Ignition Interlock Permit in Nebraska
Your court, the DMV and/or your attorney will advise you when to install your Ignition Interlock, which must be installed on each vehicle you will be driving excluding CDL vehicles. Keep in mind that you need to wait out your hard suspension period and install your Ignition Interlock before applying for the IIP. A first DUI with a failed chemical test will typically not have a hard suspension period, but test refusals will need to wait 90 days.
Once your hard suspension period is over, and after scheduling your Ignition Interlock appointment and arriving at the service center, we will send a certificate of installation on your behalf to the DMV. Every Nebraska-certified Ignition Interlock vendor including Smart Start must provide this service.
After your installation appointment with a provider, you need to complete an Ignition Interlock Permit Application. Send the completed application to the Financial Responsibility Division of the Ignition Interlock Permit Program:
- 301 Centennial Mall South, P.O. Box 94877
Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-4877
If you have any questions with this process, the program’s number is 402-471-3985. You can mail, hand-deliver or fax the application to 402-471-8288.
After going through all the license reinstatement steps and meeting your court’s requirements, you’ll be back on your feet in no time.
Install the Best Nebraska Ignition Interlock Today
Have any questions about installing an Ignition Interlock in Nebraska? Smart Start can help. Schedule your installation appointment and get your information by the state experts of Nebraska Ignition Interlocks at (800) 831-3299 or fill out our online form.