Do you know what to do after getting a first DUI in Georgia? Let’s go over what to expect and how a Smart Start Ignition Interlock can help you get back on the road right away.
A First DUI in Georgia Timeline
First, at the time of your arrest, you were provided a 1205 Form from the officer and your driver’s license was confiscated. This 1205 Form is your temporary driving permit for 45 days. So now let’s go over your options to move forward in your DUI case.
Reinstating Your Driving Privileges and Your Driver’s License
To start the process of your DUI case, you have three options: You can either do nothing, which will result in a DUI conviction; you can schedule an administrative license suspension (ALS) hearing; or opt out of the ALS hearing and inquire about the Ignition Interlock Device Limited Driver’s Permit, which we will discuss later in the blog. You might also want to consult with an attorney for your DUI case. You’ll have 30 days to decide on moving forward after your 1205 Form is issued.
The DDS or Department of Driver Services is your administrative component to your DUI case. In other words, they’re the oversight authority regarding your driver’s license. You’ll need to visit one of their offices regarding your DUI. They will go over with you your options and what you need to do to reinstate your driving privileges. There is an option for someone with a first-time DUI to drive again sooner rather than later as you’re going through the judicial process by choosing to install an Ignition Interlock right away: you may be eligible for the Ignition Interlock Device Limited Driving Permit or IIDLDP.
Ignition Interlock Installation in Georgia: Obtaining a Limited Permit
If eligible, you can notify the DDS of your interest on obtaining an Ignition Interlock Device Limited Driver’s Permit. You need to do this within 30 days of receiving your 1205 Form and waive your right to an administrative hearing. This action, if approved, will ensure you continue driving while the judicial process with your DUI continues.
After meeting with the DDS, then installing your Ignition Interlock with a DDS-approved provider, such as Smart Start, you can report back to the DDS to obtain your IIDLP. You won’t receive any credit for your Ignition Interlock until you obtain your IIDLDP from DDS. An IIDLDP is not available for DUI cases causing fatalities or serious injury, or for drivers not licensed in Georgia.
About Your Driver’s License Suspension Period
The paperwork will show you how long your driver’s license is suspended for because of the DUI. In most cases for a first-time DUI, the suspension period is 12 months.
The Ignition Interlock Device
Now let’s get into the Ignition Interlock Device. Below is information regarding some first-time DUI convictions who must install the Ignition Interlock.
- For a first-time DUI, you may need to install an Ignition Interlock under the following circumstances:
- If you refused your field sobriety test breath sample, in most cases, you’ll need the Ignition Interlock for 12 months.
- If you submitted to a field sobriety test, in most cases, you’ll need the Ignition Interlock for four months.
Do you have any questions about your Ignition Interlock program? Feel free to call our 24/7/365 Customer Care Center at 800-831-3299. Our service agents are standing by and ready to assist you! We know the Georgia DUI and Ignition Interlock law so our clients can experience a seamless program and drive again.
Need to Install an Ignition Interlock in Georgia?
Smart Start’s ready to help you get back on the road with a discreet device and an affordable program. Make sure to ask for any current state specials or discounts! All you need to do is schedule your installation appointment today at (800) 831-3299 or fill out our online form.
Schedule an Installation
Save up to $200* on your installation just by providing some details. Let's get started.