Do you know what penalties to expect after a first DUI offense in Oklahoma? You may know at this point that you need to install an Ignition Interlock Device, which is generally a requirement for all DUI charges in Oklahoma. If you do need to get an Ignition Interlock right away, Smart Start can help as an Oklahoma-certified provider at (800) 831-3299 or by filling out our online form. Once you reach out, we’ll take care of the rest!
But let’s go over what else you can expect after a first DUI offense in Oklahoma.
A First DUI Offense in Oklahoma Timeline
You may notice after your DUI arrest that the officer confiscated your driver’s license. This action is an administrative license revocation (ALR), and only occurs if your breath test was at or above .08 if you are 21-years-old or older at the time of your arrest, or upon your chemical test refusal. In general, this license revocation takes effect in 30 days.
In Oklahoma, you may be held in jail for 24 hours or you can bond out from a first DUI arrest. Your first court appearance could be held by video from the jail, and this hearing will address your bail and conditions of your release.
At this point, you may want to hire an Oklahoma DUI attorney to assist you with the next best steps for your DUI case. Depending on your circumstances, your DUI attorney may even recommend you install an Ignition Interlock sooner rather than later to help your case.
Administrative Hearing Outcomes
You’ll also be provided information on your affidavit about an administrative hearing, which is your opportunity to present testimony and evidence to a DPS Hearing Officer about why your driving privileges should not be revoked. If you fail to request this hearing within 15 days from your arrest date, your driver’s license is automatically revoked 30 days from the date the officer served you the affidavit.
During this hearing, if your license revocation is upheld, there are several outcomes from a first DUI in Oklahoma.
- For a breath test with results of .14 or less, you can choose to sit out your revocation and no Ignition Interlock installation (an Interlock would allow you to drive again.) If a modified license is granted during your revocation period, then you can install the Ignition Interlock for a six-month period. You must have an Ignition Interlock installed in your vehicle to have a modified license.
- For a breath test with results that are .15 or higher, or a test refusal, your Ignition Interlock period will last 18 months. If the modified license is granted for your revocation period, you’ll add the six-month Ignition Interlock period to drive again. Your 18-month Ignition Interlock period is a requirement for reinstatement and comes after your revocation/modification period.
Let’s go into detail on what to expect from the court or judicial side of your DUI.
Court Conviction for a First DUI Offense in Oklahoma
While the administrative portion of your DUI case is happening, you may be concurrently experiencing the judicial or court outcomes. You’ll need to schedule and have an arraignment, trial and then sentencing. Upon conviction, you can generally expect the following penalties for a first DUI offense in Oklahoma.
- Court fines and fees
- Alcohol and Drug Substance Abuse Course (ADSAC) evaluation
- Six-month license revocation*
- Ignition Interlock for 180 days*
* Keep in mind that your administrative revocation may satisfy the court-ordered revocation upon conviction!
The best thing to remember during your DUI case is that you are not alone. You can always reach out to your attorney, the DPS or your court contact if you’re not sure which steps to take.
Get Back on the Road with Smart Start
Have any questions about your Ignition Interlock requirement in Oklahoma? Smart Start is here to help you get back on the road the quickest at (800) 831-3299. We provide low pricing, a discreet device and a 24/7/365 Customer Care Center to assist you. Schedule your installation appointment today by calling (800) 831-3299 or by filling out our online form.