Indiana Ignition Interlock Laws

For first-time offenders and repeat OWI (Operating While Intoxicated) offenders, your license will be confiscated immediately per Indiana’s Administrative License Revocation (ALR) if:

  • Your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level was .08 or higher
  • You refused a breath test

Offenders may be required to have an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) installed and maintained on their vehicle at the courts’ discretion. You’re required to pay for all costs associated with the IID, from installation, monthly lease payments, and service fees to removal. Please note that all offenders can legally drive until their court date. Habitual traffic violators  (HTVs) can also regain their licenses.

How to Get Your License Quickly in Indiana

  1. Visit the Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) site and check your Viewable Driver Record to learn when your license can be reinstated.
  2. Complete any requirements prior to having your license reinstated if the eligibility date is listed as “indefinite.”
  3. Schedule an appointment to have your ignition interlock installed with an approved Smart Start interlock service provider by calling 800.831.3299 (if applicable).
  4. Satisfy your requirements and contact the court. The court will then notify the BMV on your behalf.
  5. Contact your insurance provider and have them submit either the SR-22 or SR-50 form to the BMV on your behalf.
  6. Pay any remaining fees and/or fines per the Viewable Driver Record.
  7. Complete any pending court regulations.

DISCLAIMER: These steps may not be a complete representation of what you must do to regain your license. As OWI case details vary by each individual, please do not see this step-by-step guide as an official process to regaining your license, but rather as a starting point only.

How Much Does an OWI Cost in Indiana?

OWI OffenseJail TimeFee
*IID fees not included
Suspended License Period
First30 days to 60 daysUp to $50090 days to 2 years
Second5 days to 3 yearsUp to $10,0002 years
Third10 days to 3 yearsUp to $10,0001 year to 10 years

*Additional fees, jail time, and suspension periods may apply.

For additional information and resources to help you regain your license in Indiana, refer to these links: