Delaware Ignition Interlock Laws

For first-time offenders and repeat DUI offenders, your license will be confiscated immediately per Delaware’s Administrative License Revocation  (ALR) if:

  • Your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level was .08 or higher
  • You refused a breath test

If the offender’s BAC is .15 or higher, courts in Delaware require an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) to be installed and maintained on the offender’s vehicle. You’re required to pay for all costs associated with the IID, from installation, monthly lease payments, and service fees to removal. You may have to attend an alcohol education program.

How to Get Your License Quickly in Delaware

  1. Wait out your suspended license period. You’ll then receive a written notice of restoration. Fulfill any court obligations.
  2. Contact the Delaware DMV and provide proof of completion for the Alcohol Education Program  or similar program (if applicable).
  3. Contact your insurance agent to get proof of financial responsibility such as an SR-22 certificate (if applicable).
  4. Pay any reinstatement fees, insurance violation fees, or revocation fees.
  5. Schedule an appointment to have your ignition interlock installed with an approved Smart Start interlock service provider by calling 1.800.831.3299.
  6. Contact the Delaware Evaluation and Referral Program (DERP) to complete a Character  Background Review (if applicable).
  7. Contact the DMV and submit your reinstatement application and fees.
  8. Complete any pending court regulations.

DISCLAIMER: These steps may not be a complete representation of what you must do to regain your license. As DUI case details vary by each individual, please do not see this step-by-step guide as an official process to regaining your license, but rather as a starting point only.

How Much Does a DUI Cost in Delaware?

Please note that your situation will warrant unique penalties and sanctions as well as jail time and suspended license period. The table shown below is representative of an individual with a BAC level of .08 to less than .15.

DUI OffenseJail TimeFee
*IID fees not included
Suspended License Period
FirstUp to 6 months$500 to $1,1501 year
Second60 days to 18 months$750 to $2,5002 years
Third1 year to 2 years$1,500 to $5,0002 years
Fourth2 years to 5 years$3,0002 years

*Additional fees, jail time, and suspension periods may apply.

For additional information and resources to help you regain your license, refer to these links: