What happens after I get my DUI?
In Colorado, if you are a first offender with blood alcohol content (BAC) below .015 can get a driver’s license reinstated after 30 days with an Ignition Interlock Device installed. If you are a first time offender with a BAC higher than .015, a repeat offender, or if you refused the chemical test at the time of arrest can apply for reinstatement after 60 days with an Ignition Interlock Device (IID).
What do I need to bring to my installation?
Once you have scheduled your Ignition Interlock Device (IID) installation with Smart Start, you will need to bring a photo identification (ID) and your vehicle registration.
What should I bring back to my monitoring authority after my device is installed?
Once the Ignition Interlock Device is installed, Smart Start will send proof of your installation to the Colorado Department of Revenue’s Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) on your behalf.
How do I know if Smart Start’s devices are compliant with my program?
Smart Start’s ignition interlock has been approved by the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment as required by the Department of Revenue’s Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV). Smart Start’s devices also meet the standards set by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA).
What happens if I violate?
If you violate in the state of Colorado, a notification of your violation is sent to the Colorado Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV). The DMV will determine your consequences, but additional time is typically added to the length of your Ignition Interlock Device requirement.
How often does my IID need to be serviced?
Colorado requires that your Ignition Interlock Device (IID) be serviced once every 30-60 days.
How do the consequences differ for a first and second DUI? Third? Fourth?
In the state of Colorado, the consequences for a DUI are as follows:
- First DUI: Nine months with an Ignition Interlock Device installed.
- Second and subsequent DUI: Up to two years with an Ignition Interlock Device installed.
The length of your ignition interlock is determined by the Colorado Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV), and may change depending on the specifics of your Ignition Interlock Device requirement and/or changes in state law.
What do I need for removal?
In the state of Colorado, you may remove your Ignition Interlock Device (IID) at any time. Whenever you remove your IID, removal notification is electronically sent to the DMV, so the DMV will suspend your driver’s license if you remove prior to the fulfillment of your requirement.
What if I have a requirement, but I don’t own a vehicle?
The Colorado Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) has an Affidavit of Non-Ownership that can be filed with the DMV.
Do I need the device on all of my vehicles?
Colorado state law dictates that you will need the Ignition Interlock Device (IID) on every vehicle that you own or will be driving during your Ignition Interlock Device requirement period.
Where can I go for service? Anywhere, or just within my state?
You may service your Smart Start Ignition Interlock Device at any Smart Start service center nationwide.
What constitutes a violation in my state?
In Colorado, any and all of the following may constitute a violation:
- Demonstrating a breath alcohol level over the limit set by the DMV
- Skipping a rolling re-test
- Presenting breath alcohol content during a rolling re-test
Please note that this is not a comprehensive list; your individual requirement may have other restrictions that dictate a violation. To verify what does and does not constitute a violation for your specific ignition interlock program, contact your court, attorney, or monitoring authority.
What do I need to do to install voluntarily?
To install an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) on your vehicle or a family member’s vehicle voluntarily, click the chat window below, fill out our online form, or call Smart Start at 800.831.3299 to speak with one of our customer care advocates and schedule a voluntary installation appointment. Check to see if your insurance offers any discounts for voluntary interlock installation—especially for children going off to college.
How do I know if I need a camera/GPS/etc.?
The state of Colorado requires that the ignition interlock include a compatible camera and auxiliary siren.
Where does installation fall based on my condition?
Your IID must be obtained prior to the reinstatement of your license. Your ignition interlock program period begins on the date of driver’s license reinstatement, not on the date of installation.
Does the camera watch me all the time?
No. The camera only takes pictures during tests; there is no live video feed.
How do I know who my monitoring authority is?
Your monitoring authority is the Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) in Colorado. However, your judge is able to dictate the terms of your Ignition Interlock Device requirement as well.
How do I know what my state requires in an Ignition Interlock Device?
The Colorado DMV will highlight all state requirements for an Ignition Interlock Device. Smart Start is on the approved list of providers, so you can be assured that our devices are state-approved and compliant.
How can I pay for calibration?
In Colorado, you can only pay by credit or debit card at your Smart Start service center at the time of calibration or service. If you do not have a credit or debit card, you can purchase a prepaid card at your local grocery store.
Where do I send a record of my service appointments?
Smart Start will send a record of your service appointments to the Colorado Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) on your behalf at no extra charge to you.
Does this thing hurt my vehicle?
No, Smart Start’s Ignition Interlock Device will not harm your vehicle in any way.
Can I get one on my motorcycle?
Motorcycle Ignition Interlock installation laws differ by state. Smart Start operates throughout the U.S. as a certified manufacturer and will work harder than other companies to provide you a seamless Interlock program that still follows your case requirements in the state of Colorado. Please call our Customer Care Center at 800-831-3299 if you have any questions.
Is the Ignition Interlock Device connected to my horn and lights?
Colorado requires that an auxiliary siren / horn be installed in the vehicle. The vehicle’s horn cannot be used with the ignition interlock system. Colorado does not require that lights be used as part of the Ignition Interlock Device or interlock system.