On January 1, 2019, California passed Senate Bill 1046, which requires Ignition Interlock Devices for all DUI cases. The law allows those with a license suspension under the Administrative Per Se law to have Ignition Interlock-restricted driving privileges and receive credit toward a required Ignition Interlock restriction period if one is later convicted of a DUI. Individuals arrested for DUI can avoid the 30-day hard suspension if one immediately applies for an Ignition Interlock through the California DMV at 916-657-6525.
Below is a typical range regarding how long you’ll need an Ignition Interlock Device in California depending on your individual case circumstances. Your Ignition Interlock period can be longer if any injury is involved.
- First DUI: Ignition Interlock requirement period: between six months to 12 months
- Second DUI: Ignition Interlock requirement period: between 12 to 24 months
- Third DUI: Ignition Interlock requirement period: 24 to 48 months
- Fourth DUI or More: Ignition Interlock requirement period: 36 to 48 months
For first-time offenders and repeat DUI offenders, your license will be confiscated immediately per California’s Administrative License Revocation (ALR) if:
- Your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level was .01 during DUI probation
- Your BAC level was .04 while driving a commercial vehicle
- Your BAC level was .08 or higher while driving a noncommercial vehicle
- You refused a breath test
California courts may also require you to install and maintain an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) on your vehicle (depending on location). You’re required to pay for all costs associated with your California interlock device, from installation, monthly lease payments, service fees to removal. You may also be required to attend a DUI or substance abuse court referral program.
How to Get Your License Quickly in California
- Contact the California DMV to enroll in a DUI program per your license suspension requirement.
- Complete the DMV Form 44 as part of the reinstatement process.
- Call your insurance provider to get proof of financial accountability such as an SR-22
- Resolve outstanding balances and pay all of your fines.
- Contact 1.800.831.3299 to schedule an appointment to have your interlock device installed with an approved Smart Start interlock service provider.
- Complete any pending court regulations.