Are you wondering if you need to install an Ignition Interlock in Oklahoma because of a DUI? Many DUI cases in Oklahoma do require a person to use an Ignition Interlock. Let’s go over in more detail how long you’ll need the device and when you need to install one.
Requirements for an Ignition Interlock in Oklahoma
First, if your driver’s license was revoked, you may need to install an Ignition Interlock to reinstate your driving privileges. Below are the different requirement periods based on your previous DUI arrests and/or other circumstances that will affect how long you need an Ignition Interlock during the revocation period (such as aggravating factors or driving record.)
Important! There will be two Interlock requirement periods listed below. The Interlock requirements for reinstatement are separate and distinct from the Interlock requirement as a condition for a modified driver’s license during your revocation period. Interlock installation time accrued during the issuance of a modified driver’s license DOES NOT count toward the Ignition Interlock installation time required for reinstatement.
Ignition Interlock Requirement Period for Reinstatement
- First revocation and you refused a test, or you had a BAC of .15 or more: After your mandatory revocation period, you will most likely need to have an Ignition Interlock for 18 months (a year and a half.) Or, the requirement period can be until your driving privileges are reinstated, whichever is longer.
- Second revocation: four years with an Ignition Interlock or until your driving privileges are reinstated, whichever is longer.
- Third or subsequent revocation: five years, or until your driving privileges are reinstated, whichever is longer.
Ignition Interlock Requirement Period with a Modified Driver’s License
When your license is revoked for a DUI, you may be able to obtain a modified driver’s license, which will allow you to operate a vehicle equipped with an Ignition Interlock under certain circumstances as provided by the Department of Public Safety during the period of revocation. This driver’s license says “Ignition Interlock” on it and you need to install the device before receiving this license. How long you’ll need an Ignition Interlock for the modified driver’s license depends on when you obtain the modification, but the requirement could be for the following periods:
- First DUI: 180 days
- Second DUI: 12 months
- Third DUI: 36 months
When Do I Need to Install an Ignition Interlock in Oklahoma?
If you hired an attorney for your DUI case, he or she may have advised you to install an Ignition Interlock before your license revocation or before your court hearing. This is a possibility, but your Interlock installation can occur after conviction.
You may be required to install an Ignition Interlock before you even go to court, as a condition of limited driving privileges. Additionally, you may be required to install a device as a condition of reinstating your driving privileges. Finally, after conviction, you could also be required to install the Ignition Interlock as a condition of a deferred sentence and/or probation.
After your Ignition Interlock installation, your provider, such as Smart Start, will provide you a certificate of installation. This certificate should be given or sent to the DPS as proof of installation.
Have any questions about your Ignition Interlock program in Oklahoma? Smart Start is a trusted provider that knows the Oklahoma DUI law and will get you back on the road the quickest. Call our 24/7/365 Customer Care Center for any assistance related to your Ignition Interlock program at (800) 831-3299.
Need an Ignition Interlock in Oklahoma?
Schedule an Installation
Save up to $200* on your installation just by providing some details. Let's get started.