What happens after I get my DUI?
In the state of Mississippi, once you get a DUI, you have several options. Once you go to court, you will have the option of getting an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) installed on your vehicle or taking a suspension of your driver’s license. If you choose to take a driver’s license suspension, you will not be allowed to drive. If you choose to install an IID, you have 30 days from your court date to get the Ignition Interlock Device installed. The court will give you an order.
What do I need to bring to my installation?
Once you have scheduled your Ignition Interlock Device (IID) installation with Smart Start, you will need to bring the following:
- Your court order, your Smart Start installation form, or a note from your monitoring authority
- Two forms of photo identification
- Proof of address
What should I bring back to my monitoring authority after my device is installed?
Once the Ignition Interlock Device is installed, you will need to bring back your receipt from your first month’s lease payment and anything else required by your monitoring authority. To be sure that you are satisfying all the requirements of your restriction, ask the court at your court appointment what you will need to bring back after your installation.
How do I know if Smart Start’s devices are compliant with my program?
Smart Start’s Ignition Interlock Devices meet all state and federal regulations, so you can be sure that our device will be compliant with your program. Smart Start is on the list of state-approved Ignition Interlock Device providers in the state of Mississippi. Smart Start’s Ignition Interlock Devices (IIDs) also meet the standards set by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA).
What happens if I violate?
In the state of Mississippi, if the judge determines that you have committed a violation, you are not eligible for adjudication.
How do the consequences differ for a first and second DUI? Third? Fourth?
- First DUI: 120 days with an Ignition Interlock Device.
- Second DUI: One year with an Ignition Interlock Device.
- Third DUI: This is considered a felony in the state of Mississippi, and you will have to serve jail time. You will also have to drive with your Ignition Interlock Device (IID) for 3 years upon release.
What do I need for removal?
What if I have a requirement, but I don’t own a vehicle?
In Mississippi, if you don’t own a vehicle, you won’t have a requirement; you’ll just have to take a license suspension. If you elect to install the Ignition Interlock Device, you must install on any vehicle that you drive. That vehicle does not have to be registered to you, but you will need a letter of permission from the owner to install the Ignition Interlock Device.
What constitutes a violation in my state?
That which constitutes a violation in Mississippi is decided by your judge. Violations include, but are not limited to high breath alcohol content, failure to take a rolling re-test, or an illegal start.
What do I need to do to install voluntarily?
To install an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) on your vehicle or a family member’s vehicle voluntarily, click the chat window below, fill out our online form, or call Smart Start at 800.831.3299 to speak with one of our customer care advocates and schedule a voluntary installation appointment. Check to see if your insurance offers any discounts for voluntary interlock installation—especially for children going off to college.
How do I know if I need a camera/GPS/etc.?
Cameras are not required in Mississippi, but your judge may require it of you. Double check with your judge and court to ensure that these additional features are not part of your Ignition Interlock Device requirement.
Where does installation fall based on my condition?
Generally, in the state of Mississippi, you are asked to wait until the court issues an order to install the Ignition Interlock Device. For an Ignition Interlock Device installed before a court date, credit for that time is only given at your judge’s discretion. If you have further questions about this, though, you can always contact your court clerk.
Does the camera watch me all the time?
No; it only takes pictures of your test. There is no live video feed.
How do I know who my monitoring authority is?
In Mississippi, your monitoring authority will either be a probation company, a court clerk, your court, your judge, or your attorney.
Where do I send a record of my service appointments?
Smart Start sends a record of your service appointments to the Mississippi monitoring authority you provided when you set up your installation appointment. We will also provide records for you upon request.
Does this thing hurt my vehicle?
No, Smart Start’s Ignition Interlock Device does not hurt your vehicle in any way.