How do the consequences differ for a first and second DUI? Third? Fourth?
Connecticut interlock laws require that, if you are convicted of a DUI, you serve a suspension of 45 days or until your 21st birthday, whichever is longer. After that suspension is complete, you are required to have an Ignition Interlock Device installed for one to three years, depending on prior DUI offenses. You are considered to be DUI if you register .08% or above on a blood-alcohol test. If you are under 21 years old, you are considered to be DUI if you register .02% or over.
When you are arrested for a DUI in Connecticut your license can be suspended in two different ways:
- DMV suspension: This only happens if you fail a breath test or refuse to take one. The suspension period generally begins 30 days after your DUI arrest. You will receive a Notice of Suspension from the Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) dictating your period of suspension. Suspension can range from six months to six years, depending on your age, blood alcohol level (BAC) at the time of arrest, and prior record of offenses.
- Criminal Court suspension: This occurs when you are sentenced by a court after a trial or plea agreement.
You will possibly encounter both types of suspension. You will only be eligible for an ignition interlock program after a criminal conviction. If you are convicted in court for a first or second DUI offense, you can apply for an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) after a 45-day suspension (unless criminal penalties dictate otherwise). If you are under 21, your license suspension lasts until your 21st birthday. You must serve a minimum of 48 hours in jail or perform 100 hours of community service, and pay a fine.
For second or third offense, in addition to higher fines, you may face vehicle impound or confiscation and permanent license revocation. For a second offense within ten years, you must have an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) installed for three years after the 45-day suspension period.
What do I need to bring to my installation?
How do I know if Smart Start’s devices are compliant with my program?
All of Smart Start’s Ignition Interlock Devices (IIDs) are approved by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) and the state of Connecticut. You can rest assured that, having met these requirements, Smart Start’s Ignition Interlock Devices are compliant with your program.
What if I have a requirement, but I don’t own a vehicle?
What constitutes a violation in my state?
In the state of Connecticut, any and all of the following may constitute a violation:
- A breath test resulting in a high breath alcohol content (BrAC)
- A failed rolling re-test
- A missed rolling re-test
- An attempt at circumvention, tampering with the IID, or an illegal start
- A missed service appointment
What do I need to do to install voluntarily?
To install an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) on your vehicle or a family member’s vehicle -voluntarily, just click the chat window below, fill out our online form, or call Smart Start at 800.831.3299. You will speak with one of our customer care advocates, who can help you schedule a voluntary installation appointment. Check to see if your insurance offers any discounts for voluntary interlock installation—especially for children going off to college.
How do I know if I need a camera/GPS/etc.?
If you need a camera or GPS in the state of Connecticut, it will be added as a condition of your sentence and will be on the summary given to you by the court.
Does the camera watch me all the time?
No, the camera only takes photos of your breath tests. There is no live video feed.
Does this thing hurt my vehicle?
No, Smart Start’s Ignition Interlock Device (IID) will not hurt your vehicle in any way.
Can I get one on my motorcycle?
Motorcycle Ignition Interlock installation laws differ by state. Smart Start operates throughout the U.S. as a certified manufacturer and will work harder than other companies to provide you a seamless Interlock program that still follows your case requirements in the state of Connecticut. Please call our Customer Care Center at 800-831-3299 if you have any questions.
How do I know what my state requires in an Ignition Interlock Device?
In Connecticut, all compliant Ignition Interlock Devices are on Connecticut’s approved list of interlock providers. Smart Start is on that list, so you can be sure that our devices meet your state’s requirements.
Is the Ignition Interlock Device connected to my horn and lights?
No, the Ignition Interlock Device (IID) is not connected to your horn and lights during installation in Connecticut.