Will Oklahoma Improve Their Ignition Interlock Law with the Impaired Driving Elimination Act?

Oklahoma could be the next state to enhance their Ignition Interlock laws that affect DUI offenders.

Oklahoma Ignition Interlock Law: The Impaired Driving Elimination Act

Senate Bill 643 is coined as the “Impaired Driving Elimination Act“ (IDEA2).

If IDEA2 goes into effect, first-time DUI offenders can reduce their one-year license suspension period in half by attending treatment and installing an Ignition Interlock into their vehicle for six months. In addition, second-time offenders will be required as a condition of bond to install an Ignition Interlock Device. The details of this bill could change, however.

Ignition Interlocks are breathalyzers that show the user’s breath alcohol concentration (BrAC) before they can start their vehicle. If the device reads a BrAC reading above its set limit, the vehicle will not start. Currently, 30 states and D.C. enforce an all-offender Ignition Interlock law.

IDEA2 is in talks to be enforced under the Oklahoma Department of Public Safety (DPS) with the newly created Impaired Driver Accountability Program (IDAP).

Will IDEA2 Reduce Drunk Driving in Oklahoma?

Some may see IDEA2 as a way for offenders to drive again sooner rather than later. However, according to multiple nationwide studies and Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD), Ignition Interlocks will keep Oklahoma’s roadways safer than a suspended license. For instance, MADD says individuals with a suspended license continue to drive, and they could continue to do so impaired.

With stronger Ignition Interlock laws such as IDEA2, Oklahoma should see a change for the better on their roads. Read more about Oklahoma’s all-offender Ignition Interlock law that took effect this year.

Need an Ignition Interlock?

Smart Start will get you back on the road with a reliable Ignition Interlock Device and 24/7 customer service. Call us today at (800) 831-3299 or fill out our online form.

SERIES: Illinois DUI School and What to Expect

GUEST CONTRIBUTOR: Jerald Novak
Chicago and Suburban Area DUI Attorney

Illinois DUI Classes or Evaluations

Every person who pleads guilty or is found guilty of DUI in Illinois must have obtained a DUI evaluation through a DUI school before sentencing. Each county has numerous DUI evaluators, and most court houses have a list of pre-approved providers. In most counties, there are usually many evaluators to choose from.

Captive DUI Class Evaluators

In some Illinois counties like Cook, Lake and DuPage, the courts mandate that all defendants MUST obtain their DUI evaluation from “captive” evaluators.

Levels of Treatment in Illinois DUI Classes

Evaluators in Illinois DUI schools will assess the clients and ultimately recommend one of four levels of DUI treatment. It consists of the following:

  1. Minimal Risk: 10 hours of Remedial Alcohol/Drug Education.To qualify for this level, the client must be a first-time offender with a breath alcohol concentration (BrAC) level no higher than .15.
  2. Moderate Risk: A base of 10 hours’ Remedial Education followed by 12 hours of counseling.

    First-time offenders with a BrAC level between .16 and .19 or a Refusal.
  3. Significant Risk: A base of 10 hours’ Remedial Education followed by 20 hours of counseling and 6 months of After Care.

    Either a first-time offender with symptoms of dependence OR minimally, ALL 2nd-time offenders, regardless of the BrAC level.

  4. High Risk: In some instances, a base of 10 hours’ Remedial Education, followed by 75 hours of inpatient or outpatient counseling and a minimum of 6 months of After Care. In some instances, a referral to a self-help group such as Alcoholics Anonymous (AA) may also be recommended.A first, second, third or greater offender but has numerous and definite symptoms of alcohol/drug dependence.

How Can We Help Our Clients?

We need to get to know our clients. We need to learn what to look for in our clients that may indicate another serious life issue that precipitated our client’s alcohol or drug use issues. Take some time and talk with your clients and get to know them as a people. Talk to them about what’s going on in their past and present family life.

Often a series of genuine, short discussions will reveal much about the iceberg lurking below the surface. A willingness to change coupled with a referral to real and effective individual and group counseling can often make a substantial and positive difference in reducing your client’s recidivism.

What Can We Do Now?

Breath Interlock Devices, or BAIIDs, have proven year after year that they are effective in reducing, minimizing and eliminating DUIs in Illinois.

I know that nobody is crazy about having an Interlock device in their car, but it’s cheaper than fines and court costs, you can’t go to jail or prison and no one will ever get killed from having one in their vehicle.

It’s like a seat belt. You really don’t like them and they’re a bit uncomfortable at first. But you sure are glad you had one when the moment of truth arrived! Once the client gets used to using an Interlock Device, it will become second nature. It’s much better to have an Interlock in your car than being locked up in a cell! Once the client has a gained a greater understanding of their true problem(s), coupled with some substantial abstinence and sobriety, the Interlock can be safely removed. 

Embarrassment

Some clients say that having the Interlock Device in their vehicle is embarrassing. I couldn’t agree more. The question I ask my clients is: Would it be more embarrassing to have an Interlock in your car or to have your kids visit you while you’re serving many years in the penitentiary?

This question is a bulls-eye, makes my point swiftly and succinctly and it ends all debate. An Interlock solves your client’s problem and solves it NOW. It’s a small price to pay to preserve your freedom, your family, your life and the lives of others.

 

Jerald Novak
Illinois DUI Criminal Defense Attorney
Serving Lake, Cook, DuPage, Will and Caine Counties

Jerald Novak and Associates
Jerry@iwindui.com

 

 

 

 

DUI Schools Series State-by-State

Do you need more information about Smart Start Ignition Interlock Devices? Call our team at (800) 831-3299 or fill out our online form.

 

SERIES: What’s DWI School in Texas Like?

If you’re searching for DWI Schools in Texas, you probably need to attend an educational program to fulfill a court requirement. DWI School is one of several requirements you need to fulfill before reinstating your license upon a DWI conviction.

Every county in Texas has different educational programs, but has a standardized process. The court can provide you your options.

Who Needs to go to DWI School in Texas? When Do I Go and How Long is it?

Anyone with a first offense DWI and receiving probation needs to attend and complete an educational program certified by the department. In addition, second or third DWI offenders need to go through an alcohol assessment/evaluation and treatment process.

You will have 180 days, or about six months, to complete your program unless you were granted an extension. Your start date will usually be when your probation was granted. Your license will not be reinstated until you finish your educational program, as well as completing any additional requirements from the court.

The Texas DWI School Program

The standardized Texas DWI education program is 12 hours. The content of the program focuses on educating attendees about alcohol and drugs, and how they drastically change a person’s normal driving ability. The program’s focus also involves an individual identifying their alcohol/drug use, and to help them reduce any future DWI behavior.

DWI school courses include these topics:

  • Alcohol/drug and traffic safety problems
  • Texas DWI laws
  • Effects of alcohol/drugs
  • Driving task abilities and alcohol/drugs
  • Chemical dependency
  • Resources for assistance
  • Costs of a DWI

Texas DWI School and Ignition Interlocks Help

DWI School can assess, treat and educate individuals as opposed to sending them to prison or jail. This option has been proven to help reduce recidivism in drunk drivers.

Another tool that helps individuals reduce their chances of offending again is an Ignition Interlock Device.

Ignition Interlocks in Texas are a requirement for first-time DWI offenders with a BrAC level of .15 or higher, or repeat offenders. The devices allow individuals to drive again, but eliminates the possibility of drinking and driving.

With education, treatment and a tool that lets you get back to your daily routine, you’ll be back on the road safely in no time.

DUI Schools Series State-by-State

Need an Ignition Interlock?

If you must use an Ignition Interlock, Smart Start is the Texas provider with a reliable product and superior customer service. We can offer current Ignition Interlock fee discounts and specials when we schedule your installation appointment. Call us today at (800) 831-3299 or fill out our online form.

 

When Do I Need an Ignition Interlock Device in Florida?

If you are convicted of a DUI in Florida, you may be required to install an Ignition Interlock Device into your vehicle.

The Ignition Interlock Device is a tool to help those convicted of a DUI get back on the road again safely. For instance, before you start your vehicle, you need to blow into the device’s mouthpiece. After a few seconds, the Ignition Interlock will display your breath alcohol concentration (BrAC) results. If your BrAC level is too high, your vehicle won’t start.

When Do I Install an Ignition Interlock Device?

You will have a driver’s license revocation or cancellation period that will take effect on your conviction date. Before the end of this revocation period, you’ll need to apply for a restricted license.

Make sure to install your Ignition Interlock Device right away before you receive your restricted license. Why? Because the state will not issue you the restricted license until you have an Ignition Interlock Device installed.

Be sure to get your restricted license immediately after installing your Ignition Interlock! Your time with your Ignition Interlock does not start counting toward your required time until you have the restricted license in hand. The Ignition Interlock restricted license has the letter ‘P’ on it.

In addition, expect to install an Ignition Interlock Device on every vehicle you own and operate. If you don’t own a vehicle, you still need to install and use an Ignition Interlock Device to meet your requirements in Florida. You’ll need to borrow a family member or friend’s car with written permission. Once your device is installed with Smart Start, we will send proof of your installation to your monitoring authority.

Who Needs to Use an Ignition Interlock Device in Florida?

Below will help visualize who needs to use an Ignition Interlock Device and for how long.

Conviction(s): How Long You’ll Have Your Ignition Interlock Device

First: Only if court-ordered
First if BrAC at arrest was .15 or above or minor was in car: At least 6 months

Second: At least 1 year
Second if BrAC at arrest  was .15 or above or minor was in car: At least 2 years

Third: At least 2 years

Four+ Convictions: At least 5 years

DUI Manslaughter:  At least 2 years    


An Ignition Interlock Device can also be installed for individuals in the pretrial process.

Keep in mind that an Ignition Interlock Device is only one requirement out of several for a DUI conviction. However, you can still call Smart Start if you need any clarification about general DUI regulations in Florida.

Read more about Florida DUI and Ignition Interlock laws, forms and FAQs on our website.

Where Can I Get a State-Approved Ignition Interlock Device?

Need an Ignition Interlock? Smart Start can provide you an affordable, reliable device and round-the-clock customer service. We also have the most service centers out of any other vendor in Florida!

Call us today at (800) 831-3299 or fill out our online form.

NEW YORK: Study shows DWI offenders avoid the Ignition Interlock Law

A state-based study published in August reveals a majority of DWI offenders in New York are avoiding the Ignition Interlock law. In other words, if an individual is required to use an Ignition Interlock from their court, they are not going to a service center and getting one installed.

90 to 100 percent of DWI offenders in 15 counties are not participating in the Ignition Interlock Device program. An astounding 77 percent of DWI offenders in Rensselaer and Schenectady Counties never installed their court-ordered Ignition Interlock. 68 percent in Saratoga County and 65 percent in Albany County also avoided installing the device.

How are so many people getting away with not using their Ignition Interlock?

According to a news station that interviewed Stop DWI Administrator of the Albany County program, Chief Deputy Kerry Thompson, many people are using a car under someone else’s name. In some cases, they use family member or friends’ vehicles to continue to drive. Anyone who knowingly allows someone to drive their car with a DWI conviction can be charged in New York.

Current New York Ignition Interlock law

Since 2010 under Leandra’s Law, all DWI offenders need to use an Ignition Interlock. New York is one out of 30 U.S. states and DC who implement an all-offender law. In addition, New York requires cameras with the devices, which helps individuals provide evidence of their sobriety, and answers the question of who truly took the test.

In Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD)’s state-by-state report, Ignition Interlocks in New York prevented drunk drivers (with a BAC of .08 or above) from starting their vehicle 7,162 times from 2015 to 2016. All-offender Ignition Interlock laws have been proven in multiple studies to reduce recidivism in drunk drivers. All they need to do is use their device, which will keep New York’s roads safe.

So, what could be done to stop individuals from avoiding their Ignition Interlock requirement?

How to close the loophole

In the same news article, Thompson states that enforcement needs to be increased from the police departments. As a result, Albany County secured a grant this past summer to help pay for the enforcement, which will help lessen the high number of people not installing their devices. With the additional funds, there can be a heightened focus on closing this loophole.

“There’s an effort among law enforcement, the district attorney’s office, and the probation department in Albany County. We will continue to assure compliance is achieved with this mandate,” Thompson says.

With increased funding for stronger enforcement of the Ignition Interlock, New York will be able to see the true effectiveness of their all-offender Interlock law.

Need to use an Ignition Interlock? Smart Start is the state of New York’s go-to provider. To make an installation appointment, call today at (800) 831-3299 or fill out our online form.

ARIZONA: Smart Start Partners with Sun Valley Services, Facility for DUI Offenders

In Arizona, the Motor Vehicles Department (MVD or ADOT) requires DUI offenders to complete an alcohol screening before their case goes to trial. That’s why facilities like Sun Valley Services provide these individuals everything they need under one roof to complete these requirements.

Smart Start has recently partnered with Sun Valley Services in Mesa to provide Ignition Interlocks to help individuals get back on the road again.

DUI Treatment and Assistance at Sun Valley Services

Sun Valley Services is a medical facility with a retail therapy approach that offers resources for DUI offenders such as screening, education and treatment. In addition, they can provide revocation packets and Traffic Survival School classes, a mandatory order in some DUI cases. The facility also assists individuals with cases involving domestic violence, anger management, family counseling and behavioral health services. Owner, Dr. Joseph Parham, is committed to helping the community by keeping roads safe, and using his expertise to change behaviors and ultimately save lives.

Smart Start Provides the Tool to Separate Drinking From Driving®

Sun Valley Services provides an all-inclusive service for individuals with a DUI offense in the Mesa area. One part of recovery in DUI offenders is the use of the proper tool. Smart Start is proud to work alongside Sun Valley Services by providing an Ignition Interlock to those who require it.

What Are Ignition Interlocks?

An Ignition Interlock is a breathalyzer in vehicles that prevents drunk driving. Individuals must blow into the device’s mouthpiece for a breath test. If their breath alcohol concentration (BrAC) is above the device’s set fail level, the vehicle will not start until a proper breath sample with no alcohol is provided. The Ignition Interlock is the only device available that can physically prevent someone from driving drunk.

With the right support and treatment, people can change and develop a better lifestyle for themselves. It’s proven that Ignition Interlocks can reduce recidivism by 15 percent.  It also leaves fewer drivers getting behind the wheel drunk, and ultimately creating safer roadways.

Get Back on the Road with Smart Start

Do you need an Ignition Interlock? If you are in Arizona, or anywhere in the U.S., Smart Start can provide a reliable device and round-the-clock customer service. Call Smart Start at (800) 831-3299 or fill out our online form to get back on the road.

HAWAII: What If I Can’t Afford My Ignition Interlock Device?

If you need an Ignition Interlock, you may need some financial assistance during your required period with the device.

Smart Start Hawaii offers an indigent program for those who qualify to help lessen the costs associated with an Ignition Interlock.

So, What Are My Discounts if I Qualify for the Hawaii Financial Assistance Program?

You will be eligible for an installation and monthly lease fee discount under the Hawaii financial assistance program. Although Smart Start’s Ignition Interlocks are less than $3 a day at normal price, we will be able to reduce your monthly fees and offer 50 percent off the installation cost at your appointment. Your regular fees will be any lockout, transfer and/or removal services.

About Smart Start Hawaii’s Financial Assistance Ignition Interlock Program

To qualify for Hawaii’s discounted Ignition Interlock program, you must be receiving Hawaii SNAP/EBT benefits. To prove this, you need to mail or fax a copy of your current benefits summary form for review and approval to Smart Start. Smart Start Hawaii’s corporate office will verify your documents with the local Department of Human Services (DHS) office. If approved, a Hawaii SNAP/EBT benefits summary form must be reviewed every year to qualify for the discount during your Ignition Interlock program.

Another resource where you can have your questions answered is with your monitoring authority. It’s always a good idea to ask them about your eligibility for financial assistance as well. In addition, they can clarify with you anything related to Hawaii’s Ignition Interlock regulations. Finally, if you still have more questions about Smart Start’s Ignition Interlock, you can call our Hawaii office at 808-695-2416.

Smart Start Hawaii Office
1100 Alakea St., Suite 1604
Honolulu, HI 96813
Fax: 808-695-2316

Ignition Interlock Indigent Programs by State Series

Need to Get Back on the Road with an Ignition Interlock?

Smart Start is the state of Hawaii’s sole Ignition Interlock provider. For any questions as a current customer, call 808-695-2416. If you need to make an installation appointment, call our Customer Care Center at (800) 831-3299 or fill out our online form.

SERIES: The Process to Remove Your Ignition Interlock, Part 6

Is it nearly the end of your required Ignition Interlock period? Check for your state below to read what you must do before you get your Ignition interlock removed.

Here’s the states in Part 6: South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin and Wyoming. If you’re not in these states, scroll to the bottom of this post and check the other parts of this series.

Updated January 2018

South Dakota

We will need permission to remove our Ignition Interlock. You may submit the court or DMV order to remove to Removals@smartstartinc.com. Make sure to include your full name and date of birth. Allow one business day for processing. A Customer Care Specialist will notify you of the removal eligibility date or steps to follow. Smart Start currently does not operate in South Dakota!

Tennessee

To help you stay in compliance, we will need approval to remove our Ignition Interlock. However, we will remove your device at your request at any time. Keep in mind that if you remove your device early, your court requirements may be extended and/or driving privileges can be suspended and any fees paid will be non-refundable. You may contact the Tennessee Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) at 615-743-3901 to check your removal date eligibility.

Bond or Probation Requirement
Smart Start will need permission to remove your device. You may submit your disposition or court orders with the terms of your Ignition Interlock to 865-288-4163, or you may contact your monitoring authority to obtain authorization. Then, contact your Smart Start service center after the removal eligibility date to schedule a removal appointment.

DMV – Arrested before 06/30/16
You will need to obtain your driver’s license without the restrictions (#16) from the DMV. Once obtained, please contact your Smart Start service center to schedule a removal appointment.

DMV – Arrested on or after 07/01/16
You will receive a letter from the DMV indicating that you are eligible for the Final Download.  You may contact the DMV at 615-743-3901 to check the status or request a copy of the letter.

Once you obtained the letter, please bring it to your local Smart Start service center to have your device serviced for the Final Download (at least 365 days from the installation date).  You will then receive a Letter of Authorization Removal form from the DMV. Upon receiving the letter, you may contact your local Smart Start service center to schedule the removal appointment.

Texas

Smart Start will need permission to remove our Ignition Interlock. You or your monitoring authority may submit the authorization court order to remove your device to Removals@smartstartinc.com or fax it to 972 -929-6638. Include your full name and date of birth. Allow one business day for processing. A Customer Care Specialist will notify you of the removal eligibility date or steps to follow.

Utah

To help you stay in compliance, we will need approval to remove our Ignition Interlock. If you remove your device early, your driving privileges can be suspended, and any fees paid will be non-refundable. We recommend you contact your court monitoring authority to obtain removal verification. Please note that you will need to remove your Ignition Interlock in the state of Utah.

Vermont

Smart Start will need permission to remove our Ignition Interlock. You may contact the Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) at 802-828-2061 to check the status or request a copy of the Removal Authorization letter. You may submit your removal document to Removals@smartstartinc.com or fax it to 972-929-6638. Include your full name and date of birth. Allow one business day for processing. A Customer Care Specialist will notify you of the removal eligibility date or steps to follow.

Virginia

We will need permission to remove our Ignition Interlock. You may contact your monitoring authority to obtain permission.  You or your monitoring authority may submit the removal document to Removals@smartstartinc.com or fax it to 972-929-6638. Include your full name and date of birth. Allow one business day for processing. A Customer Care Specialist will notify you of the removal eligibility date or steps to follow.

Washington

To help you stay in compliance, we will need approval to remove our Ignition Interlock. However, we will remove your device at your request at any time. Keep in mind that if you remove your device early, your court requirements may be extended and/or driving privileges can be suspended and any fees paid will be non-refundable.

DMV or License Suspensions
If you need a 4-Month or 180-Day Compliance review, you will need to obtain your End Date from the Washington Department of Licensing (DOL) at 360-902-3900 or CustomerCare@dol.wa.gov. Your device will need to be serviced on or after the End Date. Once you have serviced your device, please follow these steps to expedite the removal process:

  1. Email Smart Start at WARemoval@smartstartinc.com
  2. Make your email subject-line: “WA 4Month or 180-day – client’s full name, date of birth and End Date”
  3. Allow up to three to five business days for processing
  4. A Customer Care Specialist will notify you of the steps to follow
  5. Allow three to five business days for DOL to review and update your records
  6. Check with the DOL on removal status
  7. Once you obtain authorization to remove, you may contact your local Smart Start service center to schedule the removal appointment

West Virginia

Smart Start will need permission to remove our Ignition Interlock in West Virginia. You may contact the West Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) at 304-926-2507 to check your removal date eligibility and any pending prerequisites. Upon receiving authorization, you may contact your local Smart Start service center to schedule the removal appointment.

Wisconsin and Wyoming

To help you stay in compliance, we will need approval to remove our Ignition Interlock. However, we will remove your device at your request at any time. Keep in mind that if you remove your device early, your court requirements may be extended and/or driving privileges can be suspended and any fees paid will be non-refundable. Upon receiving authorization, you may contact your local Smart Start service center to schedule the removal appointment.

 

Removing My Ignition Interlock Series

Part 1: A general Ignition Interlock removal guide.

Part 2: The proper removal process for your Interlock program broken down by state: Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida and Georgia

Part 3: Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine and Maryland

Part 4: Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey

Part 5: New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island and South Carolina

Part 6: South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin and Wyoming

Need an Ignition Interlock to get back on the road? Smart Start can help with a reliable device, affordable costs and 24/7/365 customer service. Call our team today at (800) 831-3299 or fill out our simple online form.

SERIES: The Process to Remove Your Smart Start Ignition Interlock, Part 5

It’s near the end of your Ignition Interlock program, but you’re concerned with the next steps. You know your removal date, but you may not know if there’s any paperwork or authorization involved with your court and/or state.

Here’s the list of states we go over in Part 5: New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island and South Carolina.

If you don’t see your state, scroll to the bottom of this post for the other parts of our removal series.

Updated January 2018

Removing My Smart Start Ignition Interlock Device

  • New Mexico
    We will need permission to remove our Ignition Interlock.  To begin the process, please email us your Judgement & Sentencing Agreement to nmremovals@smartstartinc.com or fax to 972-929-6638. Include your full name, date of birth and your driver’s license number. Allow between two to three business days for processing. A Customer Care Specialist will notify you of the removal eligibility date or steps to follow.
  • New York
    We will need permission to remove our Ignition Interlock. You or your monitoring authority can submit the authorization court order to remove your device to us at Removals@smartstartinc.com or fax the order to 972 -929-6638. Make sure to include your full name and date of birth. Allow one business day for processing. A Customer Care Specialist will notify you of the removal eligibility date or steps to follow.
  • North Carolina
    To help you stay in compliance, we will need approval to remove our Ignition Interlock. If you remove your device early, your driving privileges can be suspended, and any fees paid will be non-refundable. We recommend you contact your court monitoring authority to obtain removal verification. Please note that you will need to remove your Interlock in the state of North Carolina.
  • North Dakota
    We will need permission to remove your device. You may submit the court or DMV order to remove to Smart Start at Removals@smartstartinc.com. Include your full name and date of birth. Allow one business day for processing. A Customer Care Specialist will notify you of the removal eligibility date or steps to follow. Smart Start currently does not operate in North Dakota!
  • Ohio and Oklahoma
    To help you stay in compliance, we will need approval to remove our Ignition Interlock. However, we will remove your device at your request at any time. Please keep in mind that if you remove your device early, your court requirements may be extended and/or driving privileges can be suspended and any fees paid will be non-refundable. We recommend you contact your court monitoring authority to obtain removal verification.
  • Oregon
    To help you stay in compliance, we will need approval to remove our Ignition Interlock. However, we will remove your device at your request at any time. Please keep in mind that if you remove your device early, your court requirements may be extended and/or driving privileges can be suspended and any fees paid will be non-refundable.Are you required to have an Ignition Interlock Certification for a 90-day or 6-month Review? Here’s how to request a review:
  1. You must have already completed your 90 days or 6 months of service
  2. You will need to have your End Date (your monitoring authority can provide this date)
  3. Your Interlock must be serviced at least one day after this date
  4. Then, send an email to ORremoval@smartstartinc.com with the subject: “OR DMV 90-day or Court 6 MTH (or both in some cases) – client’s full name, date of birth and End Date.” Please allow up to five to seven business days for processing. A Customer Care Specialist will notify you of the removal eligibility date or steps to follow.
  • Pennsylvania
    To help you stay in compliance, we will need approval to remove our Ignition Interlock. However, we will remove your device at your request at any time. Please keep in mind that if you remove early, your court requirements may be extended and/or driving privileges can be suspended and any fees paid will be non-refundable. You may contact the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation (PennDOT) at 800-932-4600 to check your removal date eligibility. You can also use this number to check the status or request a copy of the letter.To start the removal process, you will need a letter from PennDOT indicating you are eligible to obtain your driver’s license without the Ignition Interlock. Your Interlock must be serviced for the Final Download on or after the date on the letter. Once you have obtained the letter, please follow these steps to expedite the removal process:
  1. Email Smart Start at PARemoval@smartstartinc.com or fax to 972-812-7702 a copy of the letter
  2. Make your email subject-line: “PA-60DAY Review – client’s full name, date of birth and End Date”
  3. Allow up to two to three business days for processing
  4. A Customer Care Specialist will notify you of the steps to follow
  5. Allow between 10 to 25 days for PennDOT to review and update your record
  6. Upon receiving the unrestricted driver’s license, please send a copy of it to the above email address or fax number so your account can be approved for removal.
  7. Then, you may contact your local Smart Start service center to schedule your removal appointment.
  • Rhode Island
    Smart Start will need permission to remove our Ignition Interlock. You may contact the Rhode Island Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) at 401-462-0800 to check your removal date eligibility.You may submit your removal documents to Removals@smartstartinc.com or fax them to 972-929-6638. Include your full name and date of birth. Allow one business day for processing. A Customer Care Specialist will notify you of the removal eligibility date or steps to follow.
  • South Carolina
    To help you stay in compliance, Smart Start will need approval to remove our Ignition Interlock. However, we will remove your device at your request at any time. Please keep in mind that if you remove your device early, your court requirements may be extended and/or driving privileges can be suspended and any fees paid will be non-refundable. You may contact the South Carolina Probation, Parole and Pardons at 803-734-0019 to obtain authorization to remove your device, then contact your local Smart Start service center to schedule a removal appointment.

The Process to Remove my Ignition Interlock Series

Part 1: A general Ignition Interlock removal guide.

Part 2: The proper removal process for your Interlock program broken down by state: Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida and Georgia

Part 3: Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine and Maryland

Part 4: Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey

Part 5: New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island and South Carolina

Part 6: South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin and Wyoming

Get Back on the Road with Smart Start

Need an Ignition Interlock in your vehicle? Call Smart Start’s Customer Care Center at (800) 831-3299 or fill out our online form.

SERIES: What Do I Need to Do to Remove My Ignition Interlock? Part 4

If you completed your Ignition Interlock program, you’re getting close to that time to remove your device from your vehicle.

This blog series breaks down state-by-state what to do to make sure you remove your Ignition Interlock properly at a Smart Start service center. Here are the states in Part 4: Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, and New Jersey.

If you don’t see your state in this list, scroll to the bottom and look for your state in the other parts of this series.

Updated January 2018

Massachusetts

To help you stay in compliance, we will need approval to remove our Ignition Interlock. However we can remove the device at your request at any time.

Massachusetts Registry of Motor Vehicles (RMV)
Please contact the MA RMV at 857-368-7180 office to obtain your Removal Date.

Your device must be serviced on or after this date for the RMV to receive a Final Report (6-Month).  After the service takes place, you will need to visit the RMV for them to review your reports. The RMV will issue a removal authorization that you will need to present to your local Smart Start service center for removal.

Court Requirement
Smart Start will remove our device at your request. However, if you remove early, your court requirements may be extended and/or driving privileges can be suspended and any fees paid will be non-refundable.  We recommend you contact your court monitoring authority to obtain removal verification.

Michigan

Contact the Administrative Hearings Section (AHS) to obtain verification for BAIID removal. Then, call our Michigan main officer at 888-234-0198 for your annual report.

Minnesota

To help you stay in compliance, we will need approval to remove our Ignition Interlock. However, we will remove your device at your request at any time.

The Minnesota Driver and Vehicle Services Department (DVS) will send you a final calibration service letter to set up a removal appointment with your local Smart Start service center.  Once your program is completed, a reinstatement letter will be sent to you. You will then need to apply for a new or duplicate driver’s license without the Ignition Interlock restriction, and then schedule your appointment with your Smart Start service center to remove the device.

Mississippi

To help you stay in compliance, we will need approval to remove our Ignition Interlock. However, we will remove your device at your request at any time.

Some courts require a removal order from the judge, but others will allow you to remove your Ignition Interlock once you fulfilled your required time. We recommend you contact your court monitoring authority to obtain removal verification.

Any documents that you are providing to start the removal process can be submitted to Removals@smartstartinc.com or faxed to 972-929-6638. Remember to include your full name and date of birth on all pages.

Please allow one business day for processing. A Customer Care Specialist will notify you of the removal eligibility date or steps to follow.

Missouri

To help you stay in compliance, we will need approval to remove our Ignition Interlock. However, we will remove your device at your request at any time.

Court Requirement
Smart Start will remove our device at your request. Keep in mind that if you remove your device early, your court requirements may be extended and/or driving privileges can be suspended and any fees paid will be non-refundable. We recommend you contact your court monitoring authority to obtain removal verification.

Missouri Department of Revenue (DOR) Requirement
Has the DOR received your certificate of completion? You can contact them at 753-751-7195 for any questions.

If Yes
Please contact your local Smart Start service center to schedule a removal appointment.

If No
Do you have your End Date?  Your Ignition Interlock must be serviced at least one day after this date. Please allow three to five business days for processing and for the DOR to review your reports and receive your certificate of completion.

Nebraska

We will remove our device at your request. However, if you remove your device early, your driving privileges may be suspended or canceled by the Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) and any fees paid will be non-refundable.  You may reach the DMV by visiting their website or by calling 402-471-3985 to obtain your removal eligibility date. Once you obtain this date, please call our Nebraska Customer Care Center at 866-747-8278 to schedule a removal appointment.

Nevada

To help you stay in compliance, we will need approval to remove our Ignition Interlock. If you remove your device early, your court requirements may be extended and/or driving privileges can be suspended and any fees paid will be non-refundable.  We recommend you contact your court monitoring authority to obtain removal verification.  Please note that you will need to remove your Ignition Interlock in the state of Nevada.

Pre-trial or Probation Requirement
Smart Start will need permission to remove your device. You may submit your original court orders with the terms of your Ignition Interlock or a copy of Minutes. As an alternative, you may contact your monitoring authority to obtain authorization.

DMV
Please contact the Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) for your local DMV office to obtain removal verification.

New Hampshire

You may email us at Removals@smartstartinc.com. Include your full name, date of birth and your driver’s license number. Allow two business days for processing. A Customer Care Specialist will notify you of your removal eligibility date or steps to take to become eligible.

New Jersey

To help you stay in compliance, we will need approval to remove our Ignition Interlock. If you remove your device early, your driving privileges can be suspended, and any fees paid will be non-refundable.  We recommend you contact your court monitoring authority to obtain removal verification.

Please be ready to present your restricted Driver’s License to our local service center as our technician will only remove your device on or after the expiration date on it.

If you don’t have a valid driver’s license or if you are out of the state, please email us at Removals@smartstartinc.com. Include your full name, date of birth and your driver’s license number if possible. Allow two business days for processing. A Customer Care Specialist will notify you of the removal eligibility date or steps to take to become eligible.

If you have not completed your Ignition Interlock program but you need to remove the device, you may remove it by surrendering your driver’s license to:

Attn: Robert Swanson

NJMVA, Driver Management Bureau

P.O. Box 134

Trenton, NJ 08666-0134

Ignition Interlock Removal Series

Part 1: A general Ignition Interlock removal guide.

Part 2: The proper removal process for your Interlock program broken down by state: Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida and Georgia

Part 3: Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine and Maryland

Part 4: Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey

Part 5: New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island and South Carolina

Part 6: South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin and Wyoming

Need to install an Ignition Interlock? Smart Start’s got you covered from start to finish of your program with a 24/7/365 Customer Care Center and a reliable device. Call us at 800-831-3299 or fill out our online form today.