It’s official. Nevada recently joined ranks with 29 other states and DC to enact an all-offender Interlock Device law.
All-Offender Interlock Device Laws
All-offender states are proven to have a higher reduction in drunk driving fatalities by 15 percent, in comparison to states with less strict Interlock requirements.
Effective Oct. 1, 2018, Nevada will have stricter requirements for first-time and repeat offenders to use an Interlock Device.
Nevada’s Interlock Law
The new law will require an individual with a breath alcohol concentration (BrAC) of .08 or above to use an Interlock Device for 90 days following their arrest. After conviction, the judge can order an Interlock for at least six months.
Right now, Nevada only requires first-time offenders with a BrAC level of .18 or above to use an Interlock Device for at least a year. Judges have the option to order an Interlock for first-time offenders with a BrAC level between .08 and .17. Their period with the Interlock, however, is between three to six months.
Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD) applauds Nevada’s decision, and says Interlock Devices are the safest tools to end drunken driving. Interlock Devices are also effective nationwide in reducing repeat offenders, as well as being compared in studies as having similar success in safety as airbag laws.
According to MADD, an Interlock has stopped a drunk driving start, at .08 or above, 6,099 times from July 2005 to December 2015 in Nevada. This number is expected to rise once the all-offender law takes effect.
Nevada follows Oklahoma as the second state within a month to sign an all-offender law.
Do you need an Interlock Device? Smart Start is a nationwide Interlock provider with affordable pricing, reliable devices and 24/7/365 customer service. We can create an appointment at your nearest Smart Start service center and provide a quote. Call today at 800-831-3299 or fill out our online form.